CFP: Learning from our mistakes: Adverse event representation (Extended deadline April 10, 2011)

Reports of adverse events that occur during clinical trials and/or induced by medical interventions help to identify issues with the safety and efficacy of medical treatment, better educate health practitioners and the general public, and ultimately allow us to learn from our mistakes to increase patient safety. In order to enable more effective sharing of such reports, this workshop will address the question of what the ontological basis for adverse events is.

The full day workshop will be held on July 26th 2011 in Buffalo, NY, USA  in conjunction with the 2011 International Conference on Biomedical Ontology (

(apologies if you receive this invitation several times)

**** Topics ****

Papers about all aspects of adverse events are welcome at the workshop; including, but not
limited to the following topics:

- Adverse events representation systems
- Current standards
- Drugs and devices safety
- Practitioners experiences
- Causality assessment

**** Call for Papers ****

In order to encourage participation, we welcome submissions in a variety of formats:

- Full length papers  (maximum 2500 words not including abstract or references)

- Short papers, up to 4 pages

- Statement of Interest:  A statement of interest (maximum 2 pages) can be about ideas, solutions, methods, products, research projects or implementation experience pertaining to adverse events representation.

The submission process for the workshop follows ICBO conference guidelines which can be found at All submissions should be PDF files formatted according to LNCS, and submitted to our Easychair installation at, in the Adverse Events Representation track. The workshop's papers will be published with the conference proceedings.

**** Important dates ****

April 10: Deadline for submission of workshop papers
April 30: Notification of acceptance of workshop papers
June 10: Deadline for submission of camera-ready copy
July 26: Adverse event workshop

**** Organizing Committee ****

Mélanie Courtot, British Columbia Cancer Research Centre
Albert Goldfain, Blue Highway, LLC
Yongqun “Oliver” He, University of Michigan Medical School
Alan Ruttenberg, University at Buffalo, School of Dental Medicine

**** Program Committee ****

       • Olivier Bodenreider, National Library of Medicine
       • Dirk Colaert, Agfa HealthCare
       • William Hogan, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
       • Jobst Landgrebe, International Institute for the Safety of Medicines Ltd
       • Christian Lovis, Geneva University Hospitals
       • Daniel Schober, IMBI, University of Freiburg
       • Stefan Schulz, Graz General Hospital and University Clinics
       • Barry Smith, University at Buffalo
       • Kent Spackman, International Health Terminology Standards Development Organization
       • Luca Toldo, Merck

For more information, consult our website at and/or contact the organizing committee at 

Follow us: #aeicbo

Received on Wednesday, 23 March 2011 05:49:15 UTC