W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > whatwg@whatwg.org > October 2013

Re: [whatwg] onclose events for MessagePort

From: Ehsan Akhgari <ehsan@mozilla.com>
Date: Thu, 17 Oct 2013 17:12:28 -0400
Message-ID: <CANTur_586Yo--tG6Y=vr=1UUpVw56mdhU8uNBOZtT+RZbGoFaw@mail.gmail.com>
To: Simon Pieters <simonp@opera.com>
Cc: WHAT Working Group <whatwg@lists.whatwg.org>, Boris Zbarsky <bzbarsky@mit.edu>, Ian Hickson <ian@hixie.ch>, Jonas Sicking <jonas@sicking.cc>, Gene Lian <clian@mozilla.com>
On Tue, Oct 15, 2013 at 5:23 AM, Simon Pieters <simonp@opera.com> wrote:

> On Thu, 10 Oct 2013 17:22:32 +0200, Ehsan Akhgari <ehsan@mozilla.com>
> wrote:
>
>  Does navigation disentangle ports? I don't think it necessarily does, at
>>> least per spec.
>>>
>>
>>
>> The current spec doesn't mention what happens in the case of navigation in
>> the owner for a port as far as I can tell.  But I consider that a bug in
>> the spec -- navigation _should_ disentangle ports.
>>
>
> Why?
>
> How would it work? If the port gets disentangled, it means the document
> has to set the salvegeable flag to false, so that navigating back doesn't
> put the document in a broken state. Do browsers do that? Is it the best
> thing to do?
>
> What if another document also has a reference to the port, does it still
> get disentangled when the owner gets navigated?
>

Yeah, I think I was wrong to assume that navigation disentangles the
ports...

Thanks for correcting me!

--
Ehsan
<http://ehsanakhgari.org/>
Received on Thursday, 17 October 2013 21:13:37 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.4.0 : Wednesday, 22 January 2020 17:00:12 UTC