W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-webrtc@w3.org > July 2015

Add "MediaStream with worker" for video processing into the new working items of WebRTC WG

From: Chia-Hung Tai <ctai@mozilla.com>
Date: Mon, 27 Jul 2015 17:12:11 +0800
Message-ID: <CACBucrFN=W-cj5is-EN07piROpA0xhL7iNj=jJSnWqujpeBrzw@mail.gmail.com>
To: public-webrtc@w3.org, Stefan HÃ¥kansson LK <stefan.lk.hakansson@ericsson.com>, Harald Tveit Alvestrand <harald@alvestrand.no>, Dominique Hazael-Massieux <dom@w3.org>, "Robert O'Callahan" <robert@ocallahan.org>, Ehsan Akhgari <eakhgari@mozilla.com>, David Baron <dbaron@mozilla.com>, Eric Rescorla <ekr@mozilla.com>, Randell Jesup <rjesup@mozilla.com>, "Kuo, Tzu-Hao" <tkuo@mozilla.com>, Martin Thomson <mt@mozilla.com>, "Kostiainen, Anssi" <anssi.kostiainen@intel.com>, Ningxin Hu <ningxin.hu@intel.com>, Rob Manson <roBman@buildar.com>
Hi, Chairs, Dom and all,

This is Chia-hung Tai from Mozilla. I would like to add a new working
items, "MediaStream with worker"[1] into WebRTC WG and form a new task
force for this specification. This working item is based on a project
called FoxEye[2]. You can check the use cases in [3].

This specification extends the Media Capture and Streams specification to
allow JavaScript developers to process video frame data in workers on the
web applications.

I already implement a prototype based on the spec[1]. And get positive
feedbacks from Mozilla DOM peers. I think it should be standardized. You
can see the demo in [4]. Looking forward to hear your voices. Thanks

[1]: http://chiahungtai.github.io/mediacapture-worker/
[2]: https://wiki.mozilla.org/Project_FoxEye
[3]: https://wiki.mozilla.org/Project_FoxEye#Use_Cases
[4]: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=prybkXsTGXY

BR,
CTai
Received on Monday, 27 July 2015 09:14:17 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Monday, 23 October 2017 15:19:45 UTC