W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-webappsec@w3.org > September 2022

Call for Exclusions: A Well-Known URL for Changing Passwords

From: <sysbot+ipp@w3.org>
Date: Tue, 27 Sep 2022 23:59:02 +0000
Message-ID: <cfe-10490-0fbb4d178bbe352c1f4f0d1abe619d01b30dd09f@w3.org>
To: Wendy Seltzer <wseltzer@w3.org>, Samuel Weiler <weiler@w3.org>, public-webappsec@w3.org, Daniel Huigens <daniel.huigens@proton.ch>, Travis Leithead <Travis.Leithead@microsoft.com>, Andrew Nolan <annolan@microsoft.com>, Tantek Çelik <tantek@cs.stanford.edu>, Eric Rescorla <ekr@mozilla.com>, Chris Wilson <cwilso@google.com>, Jeffrey Yasskin <jyasskin@google.com>, Songfeng Li <lisongfeng@bytedance.com>, Alexey Petrov <alexey.petrov@ringcentral.com>, Ravinder Singh <ravinder.singh@digital.cabinet-office.gov.uk>, Alan Stearns <stearns@adobe.com>, Peter Snyder <psnyder@brave.com>, Andrew Galloni <andrew@cloudflare.com>, Mark Nottingham <mnot@mnot.net>, Deborah Ercolini <deb@mitre.org>, Noah Lemen <noahlemen@fb.com>, Nathan Schloss <n8s@fb.com>, Manu Sporny <msporny@digitalbazaar.com>, Dave Longley <dlongley@digitalbazaar.com>, Gerhard Oosthuizen <goosthuizen@entersekt.com>, Nic Jansma <njansma@akamai.com>, Theresa O'Connor <hober@apple.com>, David Singer <singer@apple.com>
Cc: member-cfe@w3.org
Dear Advisory Committee Representatives, Team Contacts, 

This is a W3C Patent Policy Call for Exclusions for the following
Recommendation Track document upon publication of its First Public Working Draft:

  A Well-Known URL for Changing Passwords
  https://www.w3.org/TR/2022/WD-change-password-url-20220927/
  exclusion opportunity ending on 2023-02-24
  This specification was produced by:
      - the Web Application Security Working Group
  
If you do not wish to exclude patent claims during this exclusion
opportunity, no further action is required. Member participants who
think their organization may have patent claims to exclude should
contact their Advisory Committee Representative.

Participants made a Royalty-Free licensing commitment upon joining this
Working Group. With the publication of this document, per section 4.1 of
the Patent Policy [1], Participants have an opportunity until 2023-02-24
to exclude patent claims reading on this Recommendation-track document.
Excluded claims are not subject to the licensing requirements of the W3C
Patent Policy for this document. For more information about exclusions,
please see
  https://www.w3.org/Consortium/Patent-Policy/#sec-Exclusion

To make exclusions, please use the following form
  https://www.w3.org/2004/01/pp-impl/49309/exclude

The Patent Policy anticipates that the documents will evolve during the
90 days following the first publication.  Per section 4.1 of the Patent
Policy [1], whatever draft is available on 2022-12-26 establishes the
reference material for the purposes of this exclusion opportunity.
Just after 2022-12-26 we will send a reminder of this exclusion opportunity.

Per section 4.2 of the Patent Policy [2], a Participant may resign from
the Working Group before 2022-12-26 and be excused from all licensing
commitments arising out of Working Group participation.

To resign from the Working Group before 2022-12-26, please use the
following form:
  https://www.w3.org/groups/wg/webappsec/leave

Summary information for this group related to the W3C Patent Policy is
available at:
  https://www.w3.org/groups/wg/webappsec/ipr

If you have any questions or need further information, please contact,
for the Web Application Security Working Group:
    Wendy Seltzer <wseltzer@w3.org>
    Samuel Weiler <weiler@w3.org>
  
Thank you,

For Tim Berners-Lee, W3C Director;
Xueyuan Jia, W3C Marketing & Communications

[1] https://www.w3.org/Consortium/Patent-Policy/#sec-exclusion-with
[2] https://www.w3.org/Consortium/Patent-Policy/#sec-exclusion-resign

-- 
This message was sent by the Patent Policy toolset.
Report any issue to sysbot+ipp@w3.org
Received on Tuesday, 27 September 2022 23:59:25 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.4.0 : Tuesday, 27 September 2022 23:59:26 UTC