W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-webappsec@w3.org > August 2017

Re: advance Referrer Policy?

From: Mike West <mkwst@google.com>
Date: Thu, 24 Aug 2017 08:52:20 -0700
Message-ID: <CAKXHy=cSO5SzsEQqA41q21_fJZLba_d1Px0HGJuComDvuUz=5w@mail.gmail.com>
To: Daniel Veditz <dveditz@mozilla.com>
Cc: Angelo Liao <huliao@microsoft.com>, Emily Stark <estark@google.com>, Franziskus Kiefer <fkiefer@mozilla.com>, Jochen Eisinger <eisinger@google.com>, "public-webappsec@w3.org" <public-webappsec@w3.org>, Christoph Kerschbaumer <ckerschbaumer@mozilla.com>, John Wilander <wilander@apple.com>
On Thu, Aug 24, 2017 at 8:41 AM, Daniel Veditz <dveditz@mozilla.com> wrote:

> On Tue, Aug 8, 2017 at 11:53 PM, Mike West <mkwst@google.com> wrote:
>
>> Hrm. I don’t think that removing the expectations for CSS-initiated
>> fetches is the right solution. We need to describe the way those fetches
>> ought to work, and AFAIK, Boris and Jochen put a good amount of effort into
>> coming up with the set of requirements in the document.
>> ​​
>> If the group thinks that those are the right requirements, I’d prefer to
>> see implementations align themselves to that agreement rather than throwing
>> it overboard and leaving the behavior undefined.
>>
>
> ​100% agreed: must not be undefined. The spec rules are reasonable​. (The
> only other choice that would make any sense would be for stylesheets to
> inherit the referrer policy from the document.) Mozilla won't likely have
> someone free to work on this for several months.
>

Ok. It seems like there's agreement that the spec is the behavior we want.
So we're just waiting on implementations for that specific section.

It looks like WebKit has added support for the remaining referrer policies
in their latest technical preview. John, do you know if folks in WebKit
have looked at the CSS recommendations in the spec? Is that something y'all
think you might find time to work on in the somewhat near future?

If not, I think we're just stuck waiting on this document.

-mike
Received on Thursday, 24 August 2017 15:53:03 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Monday, 23 October 2017 14:54:23 UTC