W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-webapps@w3.org > April to June 2015

Re: Imperative API for Node Distribution in Shadow DOM (Revisited)

From: Anne van Kesteren <annevk@annevk.nl>
Date: Tue, 5 May 2015 07:20:56 +0200
Message-ID: <CADnb78ibJHLf0hX33b2J2z16YC+fv-UU+XsEDrMYJg9b1WO4bQ@mail.gmail.com>
To: Elliott Sprehn <esprehn@chromium.org>
Cc: Hayato Ito <hayato@chromium.org>, Domenic Denicola <d@domenic.me>, Ryosuke Niwa <rniwa@apple.com>, Justin Fagnani <justinfagnani@google.com>, WebApps WG <public-webapps@w3.org>, Erik Bryn <erik@erikbryn.com>, Dimitri Glazkov <dglazkov@google.com>, "Edward O'Connor" <eoconnor@apple.com>, Steve Orvell <sorvell@google.com>
On Tue, May 5, 2015 at 6:58 AM, Elliott Sprehn <esprehn@chromium.org> wrote:
> We can solve this
> problem by running the distribution code in a separate scripting context
> with a restricted (distribution specific) API as is being discussed for
> other extension points in the platform.

That seems like a lot of added complexity, but yeah, that would be an
option I suppose. Dimitri added something like this to the imperative
API proposal page a couple of days ago.


> One thing to consider here is that we very much consider distribution a
> style concept. It's about computing who you inherit style from and where you
> should be in the box tree. It just so happens it's also leveraged in event
> dispatch too (like pointer-events). It happens asynchronously from DOM
> mutation as needed just like style and reflow though.

I don't really see it that way. The render tree is still computed from
the composed tree. The composed tree is still a DOM tree, just
composed from various other trees. In the "open" case you can access
it synchronously through various APIs (e.g. >>> if we keep that for
querySelector() selectors and also deepPath).


-- 
https://annevankesteren.nl/
Received on Tuesday, 5 May 2015 05:21:19 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Friday, 27 October 2017 07:27:31 UTC