W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-web-perf@w3.org > January 2015

Re: "Packing on the Web" -- performance use cases / implications

From: Martin Thomson <martin.thomson@gmail.com>
Date: Wed, 21 Jan 2015 10:38:05 -0800
Message-ID: <CABkgnnVQ4BQempH_8khTTAXY9xgbs6sFMY-Q7aH9EeVuEr-sjg@mail.gmail.com>
To: Ilya Grigorik <igrigorik@google.com>
Cc: Yves Lafon <ylafon@w3.org>, Alex Russell <slightlyoff@google.com>, Travis Leithead <travis.leithead@microsoft.com>, Mark Nottingham <mnotting@akamai.com>, Yoav Weiss <yoav@yoav.ws>, public-web-perf <public-web-perf@w3.org>, "www-tag@w3.org List" <www-tag@w3.org>, Jeni Tennison <jeni@jenitennison.com>
On 21 January 2015 at 10:28, Ilya Grigorik <igrigorik@google.com> wrote:
> Can you elaborate on what the missing components are?

The ability to take a meta-resource and treat it as a single unit.
Packaging, basically.

If the intent is to improve the performance of various applications by
ensuring that a user agent has more information to use in deciding to
load the resources the application depends on, then the effort needs a
new name.

Yves is right to identify priority as a part of that.
Received on Wednesday, 21 January 2015 18:38:32 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.4.0 : Friday, 17 January 2020 18:01:27 UTC