W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-tracking@w3.org > August 2012

Re: SOX Requirements RE: ACTION-216 - Financial Reporting "Exceptions"

From: Tamir Israel <tisrael@cippic.ca>
Date: Tue, 21 Aug 2012 17:12:28 -0400
Message-ID: <5033F9BC.5010400@cippic.ca>
To: "Dobbs, Brooks" <Brooks.Dobbs@kbmg.com>
CC: Shane Wiley <wileys@yahoo-inc.com>, Lee Tien <tien@eff.org>, Craig Spiezle <craigs@otalliance.org>, 'Chris Mejia' <chris.mejia@iab.net>, 'David Wainberg' <david@networkadvertising.org>, 'Jonathan Mayer' <jmayer@stanford.edu>, "public-tracking@w3.org" <public-tracking@w3.org>, 'Nicholas Doty' <npdoty@w3.org>
OK, thanks again, Brooks (and Chris). And I understand why perhaps it 
isn't wise to discuss in too great details on a public forum.

I'll just ask that you folks think about the added utility of UID/IP 
addresses, given that a determined fraudster can delete the first and 
proxy the 2nd.

And with respect to IP addresses, I think this is one that remains in 
the 'to be decided' pile of the DNT definition .....

On 8/21/2012 5:01 PM, Dobbs, Brooks wrote:
> Tamir,
>
> So to be clear people don't publish there "secret sauce" on how they
> identify and remove click fraud, or to be more politically correct "low
> quality" clicks.  So your question is - do UIDs fix his problem.
> Obviously not knowing the secret sauce I can't specifically answer HOW
> they help, but I can say they are part of the solution.  With clicks
> selling for real values in whole dollars and even upwards of tens of
> dollars, you need to make sure that, for instance, the same user can't
> create a charge for more than one click.  This presupposes that you can
> identify "same user".  You may also need to know who someone isn't, as you
> wouldn't want someone who financially benefits from the click to do the
> clicking.  The more data you have, the better job of determining the
> quality of the click.  Now I use click here as an example, but the same
> really holds true for ad views as well; it is just a question of scale.
> So yes cookies are deleted and some folks have no cookies, but all this
> can be used to create heuristics that build confidence.  If you don't log
> IP and you don't log cookies this confidence is pretty hard to come by.
>
> -Brooks
>
>
>
Received on Tuesday, 21 August 2012 21:13:21 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.4.0 : Friday, 17 January 2020 17:38:54 UTC