W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-semweb-lifesci@w3.org > September 2013

Re: proposed COI call Wed 4 Sep

From: Alasdair J G Gray <Alasdair.Gray@manchester.ac.uk>
Date: Tue, 3 Sep 2013 09:01:35 +0100
Cc: Kerstin Forsberg <kerstin.l.forsberg@gmail.com>, Eric Prud'hommeaux <eric@w3.org>, "public-semweb-lifesci@w3.org" <public-semweb-lifesci@w3.org>, Charlie Mead <charlie.mead@yahoo.com>, Josh Mandel <jmandel@gmail.com>, Hans Constandt <hans@ontoforce.com>, Christel Daniel <christel.daniel@crc.jussieu.fr>, Sajjad Hussain <sajjad.hussain@crc.jussieu.fr>, Mustafa Yuksel <mustafa@srdc.com.tr>, Gokce Banu Laleci Erturkmen <gokce@srdc.com.tr>, Erick Von Schweber <erick@surveyorhealth.com>, "Solbrig, Harold R." <Solbrig.Harold@mayo.edu>, Stan Huff <Stan.Huff@imail.org>, "Jiang, Guoqian, M.D., Ph.D." <Jiang.Guoqian@mayo.edu>, "Emory Fry (Google Drive)" <eafry@gmx.com>, Conor Dowling <conor-dowling@caregraf.com>, David Booth <david@dbooth.org>
Message-Id: <F4663BDC-6255-4EB9-88A4-4D9CB3DA4EF8@manchester.ac.uk>
To: Joanne Luciano <jluciano@gmail.com>
Hi Joanne,

On 3 Sep 2013, at 08:44, Joanne Luciano <jluciano@gmail.com> wrote:

> Kerstin,
> 
> Would you say more about 1.
> Regarding 2, 
> 
> Sent from my iPhone
> 
> On Sep 3, 2013, at 2:50 AM, Kerstin Forsberg <kerstin.l.forsberg@gmail.com> wrote:
> 
>> Hi Eric,
>> Thanks for the link to the RIM RDF tutorial, will read with great interest. 
>> 
>> I'll not able to join tomorrow. Two thoughts re. mappings. 
>> 
> 
> 1:
>> - How to align this with the interest in getting RDF (SKOS) versions directly from source (eg we have a good interaction with MedDRA MSSO about this).
>> 
> 
> 2:
> 
>> - Mapping provenance
>> The justification and attribution of the mappings (between concept/terms) are key to trust them.
> 
> +1
> I wasn't able to be at ICBO this year, so thanks for mentioning this (below)
> These are both excellent suggestions. Are the mutually exclusive?
> Is it possible to do/have/support/utilize both Nanopublications and Open PHACTS?

The two approaches are not mutually exclusive and indeed have very similar aims. The key difference is that a nanopublication is about making a single assertion with appropriate metadata, i.e. a single link/mapping, while a linkset provides metadata about a set of links/mappings that have been generated the same way. As such, you can easily perform a transformation between a linkset and a collection of nanopublications, each of which would have the same metadata, and likewise from a collection of nanopublications with the same metadata to a linkset.

Due to their nature, the metadata associated with a linkset is far more focused on the specific issue of linking two datasets and includes specific predicates to reflect this.

Best regards,

Alasdair

> 
> I am not able to make the meeting this morning - scheduling conflict.
> 
> Thanks.
> 
> Kind regards,
> Joanne
> 
>> At the ICBO conference earlier this summer we discussed the idea of turning for example the mappings in the Bioportal into Nanopublications based on some great work by Jim McCusker. So that the Bioportal mappings stated as skos:closeMatch also would have the justification of them as being the results of using the LOOM lexical algorithm. An alternative would be to treat mappings as linksets as done by Open PHACTS and provide the justification for the links/mappings (between entities) as part of the linkset description in VoID. Alasdair Gray is working on a nice proposal 1) on this based on the W3C HCLS task force for dataset discovery and description that Michel lead.
>> 
>> 1) Open PHACTS’s Dataset description specification
>> 
>> Regards
>> Kerstin
>> 
>> On 3 sep 2013, at 07:39, Eric Prud'hommeaux <eric@w3.org> wrote:
>> 
>>> Emory proposed that we meet tomorrow at 7:30am US Eastern to make
>>> progress on shared terminology mappings. That's 4:30 for west-coasters
>>> so if anyone's attending from there, we can split the call into
>>> 30 mins on term mapping when Emory can make it and
>>> 30 minutes on outreach material at the regular time 3.5 hours later.
>>> 
>>> Please reply with scheduling constraints and I'll do my best to
>>> accomodate.
>>> 
>>> minutes of prior meetings:
>>> http://www.w3.org/2013/07/12-hcls-minutes
>>> http://www.w3.org/2013/07/18-hcls-minutes
>>> http://www.w3.org/2013/08/07-hcls2-minutes
>>> 
>>> proposed agenda:
>>> updates on collab between TAPS and SALUS on sharing terminology mappings
>>>  [Conor, Gökçe, Emory]
>>> education/outreach material, e.g.
>>>  http://www.w3.org/2013/HCLS-tutorials/RIM/
>>>  http://www.w3.org/2013/C-CDA/IJ.xml
>>>  more stuff from SMART
>>> 
>>> Please RSVP so I can get a head count for the bridge reservation.
>>> 
>>> Call will be from 11:30-12:30 UTC (07:30 EDT) (13:30 CET)
>>> using the Zakim Bridge: +1.617.761.6200, with
>>> Conference Code: 4257 ("HCLS")
>>> For text, we will use the IRC channel #hcls on irc.w3.org port 6665.
>>> Please try out <http://irc.w3.org/> if you don't have an IRC client.
>>> 
>>> -- 
>>> -ericP
>>> 

Dr Alasdair J G Gray
Research Associate
Alasdair.Gray@manchester.ac.uk
+44 161 275 0145

http://www.cs.man.ac.uk/~graya/

Please consider the environment before printing this email.


Received on Tuesday, 3 September 2013 08:02:05 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.4.0 : Friday, 17 January 2020 17:21:35 UTC