W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-sdwig@w3.org > February 2020

Transportation Ontology Coordination Committee

From: Ted Guild <ted@w3.org>
Date: Fri, 14 Feb 2020 10:44:20 -0500
Message-ID: <d4fc18ca738af506c5494e330d73fe691c419c54.camel@w3.org>
To: public-automotive <public-automotive@w3.org>, "public-sdwig@w3.org" <public-sdwig@w3.org>, public-autowebplatform <public-autowebplatform@w3.org>, public-maps-workshop-pc <public-maps-workshop-pc@w3.org>
Cc: Ken Vaughn <kvaughn@trevilon.com>, katsumi <katsumi@mie.utoronto.ca>, Mark Fox <msf@mie.utoronto.ca>, George Percivall <gpercivall@ogc.org>, "Rittmuller, Robert (VOLPE)" <robert.rittmuller@dot.gov>, Morten Borrebæk <Morten.Borrebaek@kartverket.no>, Clemens Portele <portele@interactive-instruments.de>
As has been communicated in various venues including SDWIG f2f (or
maybe during the routing api/ontology session), Auto WG call and
separate conversations, there is strong interest in having a
coordination committee for transportation ontologies.

It will be a joint task force between the soon to be rechartered
Spatial Data on the Web Interest Group (SDWIG) and the soon to be
renamed/relaunched Automotive and Transportation Business Group
(formerly Automotive Webplatform BG).

While some things are drawing out and taking longer than desired, there
is no reason we can't get discussions going.

SDWIG draft recharter

https://w3c.github.io/sdw/roadmap/charter-2020.html

Auto and Transportation BG proposed scope

https://lists.w3.org/Archives/Public/public-automotive/2020Jan/0003.html

We have formed liaisons with ISO TC 211 Geospatial and recently ISO TC
204 Intelligent Transportation Systems. A couple of the principal data
architects for ISO JTC1 SmartCities are interested in participating and
we will explore a formal liaison there as well. SDWIG as a long
established coordination between Open Geospatial Consortium (OGC) and
W3C.

I have created this joint task force in W3C's system for this committee
which will permit participants from either the Auto BG or SDWIG. Let me
know if you are in either and wish to be part of this task
force/committee. I also created a mailing list and after settling on a
shortname (tocc?) a github repository.

public-transportation-data@w3.org

Archives will be public

https://lists.w3.org/Archives/Public/public-transportation-data/

If you are not part of either group and wish to follow, you may
subscribe to this list.

https://www.w3.org/Mail/#subscribing

If you have never posted to a W3C mailing list before from a given mail
address, you will receive an autoreply the first time you do asking for
your permission to archive the message. It may also be delayed for
review as part of our spam mitigation programs before appearing in
archives.

https://www.w3.org/Mail/FAQ#aa

If you have further questions, please feel free to ask me.

-- 
Ted Guild <ted@w3.org>
W3C Automotive Lead
https://www.w3.org/auto


Received on Friday, 14 February 2020 15:44:37 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.4.0 : Friday, 14 February 2020 15:44:38 UTC