W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-privacy@w3.org > October to December 2015

Re: Comments/Questions on Media Capture Streams – Privacy and Security Considerations

From: Rigo Wenning <rigo@w3.org>
Date: Thu, 29 Oct 2015 07:52:21 +0100
To: Eric Rescorla <ekr@rtfm.com>
Cc: Martin Thomson <martin.thomson@gmail.com>, "public-privacy (W3C mailing list)" <public-privacy@w3.org>, Mathieu Hofman <Mathieu.Hofman@citrix.com>, Harald Alvestrand <harald@alvestrand.no>, Nick Doty <npdoty@w3.org>, "public-media-capture@w3.org" <public-media-capture@w3.org>
Message-ID: <9646607.KyvhBZzRLf@hegel>
On Thursday 29 October 2015 15:37:12 Eric Rescorla wrote:
> On Thu, Oct 29, 2015 at 3:35 PM, Rigo Wenning <rigo@w3.org> wrote:
> > On Thursday 29 October 2015 15:04:05 Eric Rescorla wrote:
> > > Chrome and Firefox do both of the two things listed in this quoted block
> > > 
> > > 1. Inform the user that the devices are hot.
> > 
> > Ok, in this case I can understand that if one has a visual indication that
> > mic
> > and camera are "on" the need for an additional prompt is somewhat moot.
> > 
> > > 2. Provide mechanisms for revoking consent.
> > 
> > This is then a question of usability. Is clicking on the visual indication
> > allowing to revoke the consent/permission?
> 
> Yes, generally.

In this case, my earlier criticism was based on insufficient information. I 
think this does what it is supposed to do. I still think that persistent 
(forever) permissions are a mistake. But this is mitigated by the fact that 
the browser indicates when mic and camera are "on". 

 --Rigo
Received on Thursday, 29 October 2015 06:52:48 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.4.0 : Friday, 17 January 2020 16:49:31 UTC