W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-media-capture@w3.org > October 2015

Re: Comments/Questions on Media Capture Streams – Privacy and Security Considerations

From: Eric Rescorla <ekr@rtfm.com>
Date: Thu, 29 Oct 2015 15:37:12 +0900
Message-ID: <CABcZeBMjJBYWtJfVHdZAp63nXH2NOAQx+L4eQ7=YfR07QKdKgw@mail.gmail.com>
To: Rigo Wenning <rigo@w3.org>
Cc: Martin Thomson <martin.thomson@gmail.com>, "public-privacy (W3C mailing list)" <public-privacy@w3.org>, Mathieu Hofman <Mathieu.Hofman@citrix.com>, Harald Alvestrand <harald@alvestrand.no>, Nick Doty <npdoty@w3.org>, "public-media-capture@w3.org" <public-media-capture@w3.org>
On Thu, Oct 29, 2015 at 3:35 PM, Rigo Wenning <rigo@w3.org> wrote:

> On Thursday 29 October 2015 15:04:05 Eric Rescorla wrote:
> > Chrome and Firefox do both of the two things listed in this quoted block
> >
> > 1. Inform the user that the devices are hot.
>
> Ok, in this case I can understand that if one has a visual indication that
> mic
> and camera are "on" the need for an additional prompt is somewhat moot.
>
> > 2. Provide mechanisms for revoking consent.
>
> This is then a question of usability. Is clicking on the visual indication
> allowing to revoke the consent/permission?
>

Yes, generally.

-Ekr
Received on Thursday, 29 October 2015 06:38:26 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.4.0 : Friday, 17 January 2020 16:26:34 UTC