Mongolian variant forms, discussion about to start

Welcome, and thank you for agreeing to join the public-i18n-mongolian 
list! On this list we will discuss how to harmonize the handling of 
variant forms in Mongolian. We will use to identify items that 
need discussion, and to record decisions.

Shortly, Greg Eck will send out an initial topic for discussion.

Here are just a few notes that may be helpful.

First, please bear in mind that the archive for this list is visible to 
the public at

There may also be emails from time to time that deal with other aspects 
of Mongolian typography on the Web. You are welcome to either ignore 
those, or contribute to the discussion.

Please try to write in English, however if it is problematic to do so, 
you can write in a language such as Chinese. In that case, however, 
other people on the list should try to ensure that the message is 
summarised in English, so that it is accessible to those who don't speak 
that language.

At the end of this message I list the current participants on the list. 
By the way, we have people on the list who are in regular contact with 
Professor Quejingzhabu.

I look forward to a productive discussion, and to the day when we have a 
standard way to represent all positional forms with variant selectors.

Best regards,
Richard (Ishida)

List participants:

Likely participants in the variant discussion:
Aaron Bell,
Andrew Glass,
Andrew West,
Badral Sanlig,
Erdenechimeg Myatav,
Eerdengshaola (my transcription of 额尔登昭拉, may be incorrect!),
Greg Eck,
Haoriwa (Horvo),
Hu Qitu,
Kamal Mansour,
Jianchun Lu,
Jinbao Liang,
Mr Jirimutu,
Ourileke Ou (Orlog),
Prof. Nashunwuritu,
Richard Ishida,
Mr SiqinBilig,
Toshi Omagari,
YuXin Wang,
Zhuang Chen

I also contacted the following people, who are not yet on the list (but 
are copied on this message):
Prof. Quejingzhabu
Mr Husele, from MenkhSoft
Mr Kai, from Xenotype Tech

Additional subscribers, who are likely to follow at a distance:
Addison Phillips,
Anqi Li,
Chunming Hu,
Martin Dürst,
Junichi Chiba,
Xiaoqian Wu

Participants represent the following organisations:
- Microsoft
- Bolorsoft
- Almas
- FangZhen
- Monotype/Noto
- Jade Bird
- Unicode
- World Wide Web Consortium (W3C)
- Information Technology Research Institute, Inner Mongolian Autonomous 
Regional Ethnic Affairs Committee
- School of Mongolian Studies, Inner Mongolia University
- Beihang University
- University of Buffalo

Received on Monday, 29 June 2015 08:12:35 UTC