W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-html-media@w3.org > September 2016

Re: Formal objections to Encrypted Media Extensions

From: David Singer <singer@apple.com>
Date: Thu, 08 Sep 2016 17:57:05 +0200
Cc: Mark Watson <watsonm@netflix.com>, Joseph Lorenzo Hall <joe@cdt.org>, Harry Halpin <hhalpin@w3.org>, Paul Cotton <Paul.Cotton@microsoft.com>, "public-html-media@w3.org" <public-html-media@w3.org>
Message-id: <7301EA5A-35F1-4F14-B305-D94F5A846DD8@apple.com>
To: Joe Feely <joe.feely@googlemail.com>

> On Sep 8, 2016, at 17:53 , Joe Feely <joe.feely@googlemail.com> wrote:
> 
> "But there seems to be little interest in pursuing alternatives (from the EFF, for example)."
> Perhaps a little off-topic but the DMCA is the problem, hence why should EFF (or anyone) have to work around it, why should anyone have to even consider the need to find the motivation to do so? DMCA should be done away with.
> 

Sadly, the W3C is not the place to address any deficiencies in or problems with US legislation.  (Nor would it be an effective place to have any influence, I suspect.)

David Singer
Manager, Software Standards, Apple Inc.
Received on Thursday, 8 September 2016 15:57:38 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Thursday, 8 September 2016 15:57:39 UTC