W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-automotive@w3.org > January 2017

Re: [NG-VIS] Next Generation Vehicle Information Services (formerly [VIWI/Convergence])

From: <ta-hirabayashi@kddi-ri.jp>
Date: Wed, 25 Jan 2017 15:55:16 +0900
Message-ID: <20170125065516.00003F44.0054@kddi-ri.jp>
To: "Streif, Rudolf" <rstreif@jaguarlandrover.com>
Cc: "public-automotive" <public-automotive@w3.org>
Hi, Rudi-san and all

Thank you very much for your works.
Of course, I am fully agreeable to Rudi-san’s proposal.

As for myself, the time from 0am to 6am are painful, red zone 
in time table.

It might be better to change the name of this activity in BG 
from “NG-VIS” to“2G-VIS” (2G: the Second Generation)  
to avoid nasty wisecracks in another meaning of NG.

Further to our calls, we, KDDI will soon propose action items for 
the next step in BG, too.

Best Regards,

T. Hiarabayashi / KDDI


----- Original Message -----
Colleagues:

During our second VIWI/Convergence conference call yesterday we 
discussed a
couple of logistics items concerning this effort. For your
recollection/information Kaz has compiled the meeting minutes at
https://www.w3.org/2017/01/23-auto-minutes.html.

As a follow-up I would like to propose some items to the group:


1. Repositioning

I think we should reposition this effort under the name "Next Generation
Vehicle Information Services" (NG_VIS) as it is supposed to become an
expansion of the standard we are currently working on and for which we 
have
published the FPWD and are on track to publish the CR in April.


2. Goal

The goal of this effort should be the creation of the next working group
charter to work on the next standard.


3. Process

Regular conference calls to establish the technical boundaries for the
charter such as integration of new technologies (HTML2, etc.), other
standards (VIWI), maintaining backwards compatibility with existing
specification, and more.

As far as the regular conference calls are concerned, we have currently 
set
the calls for Monday at 1600 UTC / 1700 CET / 0900 PT / 0200 JST. It is
easy to see that the 2am time is a burden for our colleagues from Japan,
Korea and other eastern localities. As you all know there and can see 
from
the attached timetable there is never a good time for everybody only 
more
or less painful times. :)

[image: Inline image 1]

Where "good time" is green, "less painful" is yellow and "more painful" 
is
red. I think we should avoid any meeting time between 11pm and 6am. 
While
10pm and 6am are red, they are, at least for me, "borderline painful". 
In
that sense workable time slots would be:

   - 2100 PST / 0600 CET / 1400 JST
   - 1300 PST / 2200 CET / 0600 JST

We could settle on one of those, or we could rotate a "more painful" 
slot
through each of the three time zones with the understanding that 
colleagues
located in that time zone won't be able to attend.

The second question is: what day of the week?

The third question is the conference call cadence: weekly or every other
week?

I attempted to capture this in a Doodle poll with the two timeslots 
Monday
through Friday weekly and Monday through Friday biweekly. Please vote at
http://doodle.com/poll/4fwebn3qdu39hpsu.


And of course your comments to and suggestions for this proposal are
welcome.

Thank you,
:rjs


-- 
*Rudolf J Streif*
System Architect - Open Source Initiative
Open Source Technology Centre

*M:* +1.619.631.5383
*Email:*  rstreif@jaguarlandrover.com



UK: G/26/2 G02 Building 523, Engineering Centre, Gaydon, Warwick, CV35 
ORR
US: 1419 NW 14th Ave, Portland, OR 97209
jaguar.com | landrover.com
-------------------
Business Details:
Jaguar Land Rover Limited
Registered Office: Abbey Road, Whitley, Coventry CV3 4LF
Registered in England No: 1672070

This e-mail and any attachments contain confidential information for a
specific individual and purpose.  The information is private and 
privileged
and intended solely for the use of the individual to whom it is 
addressed.
If you are not the intended recipient, please e-mail us immediately.  We
apologise for any inconvenience caused but you are hereby notified that 
any
disclosure, copying or distribution or the taking of any action in 
reliance
on the information contained herein is strictly prohibited.

This e-mail does not constitute an order for goods or services unless
accompanied by an official purchase order.

          〜〜〜〜〜〜〜〜〜〜〜〜〜〜〜〜〜〜
          KDDI総合研究所

          平林 立彦
          HIRABAYASHI Tatsuhiko
          Tel: 03-6678-1946(代表)
          Mobile: 080-5941-4506
          Fax: 03-6678-0339
          E-mail: ta-hirabayashi@kddi.com
          Address: 〒102‐8460
          東京都千代田区飯田橋3-10-10
          ガーデンエアタワー18階
          〜〜〜〜〜〜〜〜〜〜〜〜〜〜〜〜〜〜
Received on Wednesday, 25 January 2017 06:55:53 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.4.0 : Friday, 17 January 2020 19:06:01 UTC