W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-aria@w3.org > January 2017

Re: Inconsistencies in aria-label=" " and how this should be reflected in the naming calculation

From: James Craig <jcraig@apple.com>
Date: Mon, 30 Jan 2017 08:36:38 -0800
Message-id: <74D87A08-544C-492C-8640-5591892E9288@apple.com>
Cc: Bryan Garaventa <bryan.garaventa@ssbbartgroup.com>, Dominic Mazzoni <dmazzoni@google.com>, Alice Boxhall <aboxhall@google.com>, Marco Zehe <marco.zehe@gmail.com>, Alexander Surkov <asurkov@mozilla.com>, David Bolter <david.bolter@gmail.com>, Accessible Rich Internet Applications Working Group <public-aria@w3.org>
To: Joseph Scheuhammer <clown@alum.mit.edu>

> On Jan 30, 2017, at 8:02 AM, Joseph Scheuhammer <clown@alum.mit.edu> wrote:
> 
> I'm inclined to say an aria-label attribute value that consists of
> nothing by white space is "empty".  Given that, rule 2C could be
> clarified as:  "... if the current node has an aria-label attribute
> whose value is not the empty string and does not consist only of white
> space ..."

You could also phrase it to trim (better yet, normalize all whitespace and then trim) before checking the values. I'm happy with either edit.


Received on Monday, 30 January 2017 16:37:09 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.4.0 : Friday, 17 January 2020 18:58:36 UTC