W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > ietf-http-wg@w3.org > April to June 2014

Re: Negotiating compression

From: Martin Thomson <martin.thomson@gmail.com>
Date: Fri, 30 May 2014 09:30:04 -0700
Message-ID: <CABkgnnWSodW0gxYXk2+JtZZXOoxuN+rbBP6FWaengm1bxmT47Q@mail.gmail.com>
To: Jason Greene <jason.greene@redhat.com>
Cc: Michael Sweet <msweet@apple.com>, Eliot Lear <lear@cisco.com>, Matthew Kerwin <matthew@kerwin.net.au>, Willy Tarreau <w@1wt.eu>, Simone Bordet <simone.bordet@gmail.com>, HTTP Working Group <ietf-http-wg@w3.org>
On 30 May 2014 08:05, Jason Greene <jason.greene@redhat.com> wrote:
> On this topic, has there been any consideration given to a potential need to alter the huffman code table after release? Perhaps after real world deployment someone determines that slightly different weighting would lead to improved packet size. My apologies if this was discussed in a past thread.

Yes, we put this in the "significant change" category.  That means
"h3", most likely.  If we bring back extensions, then there will be
other ways to move to an arithmetic coder or typed fields or something
crazy.
Received on Friday, 30 May 2014 16:30:33 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.4.0 : Friday, 17 January 2020 17:14:31 UTC