W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > xml-dist-app@w3.org > September 2002

RE: New AFTF draft.

From: David Orchard <dorchard@bea.com>
Date: Wed, 11 Sep 2002 06:44:41 -0700
To: "'Jean-Jacques Moreau'" <moreau@crf.canon.fr>, "'Christopher B Ferris'" <chrisfer@us.ibm.com>
Cc: "'Henrik Frystyk Nielsen'" <henrikn@microsoft.com>, "'Carine Bournez'" <carine@w3.org>, "'Herve Ruellan'" <ruellan@crf.canon.fr>, <xml-dist-app@w3.org>, "'Yves Lafon'" <ylafon@w3.org>
Message-ID: <007c01c25999$618723b0$0100007f@beasys.com>

Seems to me it should be a representation rather than a resource.  Even
though the representation might be identified by a URI (and so be confused
with a Resource).  The web architecture is pretty clear that resources are
hidden by servers.

Cheers,
Dave

> -----Original Message-----
> From: xml-dist-app-request@w3.org
> [mailto:xml-dist-app-request@w3.org]On
> Behalf Of Jean-Jacques Moreau
> Sent: Wednesday, September 11, 2002 3:04 AM
> To: Christopher B Ferris
> Cc: Henrik Frystyk Nielsen; Carine Bournez; Herve Ruellan;
> xml-dist-app@w3.org; Yves Lafon
> Subject: Re: New AFTF draft.
>
>
>
> They're not resources, but representations of resources?
> Personally, I think part reads better than resource in this context.
>
> Jean-Jacques.
>
> Christopher B Ferris wrote:
> > Well, there's 'resource' which fits in nicely with the Web
> architecture.
> >
> > e.g.
> >         "Compound SOAP structure
> >          A compound SOAP structure consists of a primary
> SOAP message part
> >          and zero or more related resources."
> >
> > I would even go as far as to add: "identified by a URI".
>
Received on Wednesday, 11 September 2002 09:47:54 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Monday, 7 December 2009 10:59:11 GMT