W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > xml-dist-app@w3.org > September 2002

Re: New AFTF draft.

From: <noah_mendelsohn@us.ibm.com>
Date: Wed, 11 Sep 2002 09:42:21 -0400
To: "Jean-Jacques Moreau" <moreau@crf.canon.fr>
Cc: Carine Bournez <carine@w3.org>, Christopher B Ferris <chrisfer@us.ibm.com>, Henrik Frystyk Nielsen <henrikn@microsoft.com>, Herve Ruellan <ruellan@crf.canon.fr>, xml-dist-app@w3.org, xml-dist-app-request@w3.org, Yves Lafon <ylafon@w3.org>
Message-ID: <OF5B03250A.226D0BF8-ON85256C31.004B4D3B@lotus.com>

Jean-Jacques writes:

>> They're not resources, but representations of resources? 

Interesting question.  Yes, MIME representations usually "represent" a 
resource, which is in any case often an abstract thing.  What's confusing 
me in this case is that there may, in this case, be no other embodiment of 
the resource anywhere in the world.  With a Web GET, you leave the 
resource behind and pull a representation.  At least sometimes with SOAP 
Attachments, you'll actually be moving the resource with the message, 
albeit by sending information in the form of a representation.  So there's 
a sense in which it's always a representation, but sometimes it is the 
resource as well. 

I'm not making a concrete suggestion one way or the other, just pointing 
out this perspective in case it's useful to anyone.  Thanks.

------------------------------------------------------------------
Noah Mendelsohn                              Voice: 1-617-693-4036
IBM Corporation                                Fax: 1-617-693-8676
One Rogers Street
Cambridge, MA 02142
------------------------------------------------------------------
Received on Wednesday, 11 September 2002 09:44:28 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Monday, 7 December 2009 10:59:11 GMT