W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > xml-dist-app@w3.org > February 2001

RE: [AMG] Thoughts about path and intermediaries

From: Dick Brooks <dick@8760.com>
Date: Fri, 9 Feb 2001 09:47:04 -0600
To: "Martin Gudgin" <marting@develop.com>, "Williams, Stuart" <skw@hplb.hpl.hp.com>, "Henrik Frystyk Nielsen \(E-mail\)" <frystyk@microsoft.com>, "Jean-Jacques Moreau \(E-mail\)" <moreau@crf.canon.fr>, "John Ibbotson \(E-mail\)" <john_ibbotson@uk.ibm.com>, "Krishna Sankar \(E-mail\)" <ksankar@cisco.com>, "Lynne Thompson \(E-mail\)" <Lynne.Thompson@unisys.com>, "Marc Hadley \(E-mail\)" <marc.hadley@uk.sun.com>, "Mark Baker \(E-mail\)" <mark.baker@Canada.Sun.COM>, "Nick Smilonich" <nick.smilonich@unisys.com>, "Oisin Hurley \(E-mail\)" <ohurley@iona.com>, "Scott Isaacson \(E-mail\)" <SISAACSON@novell.com>, "Yves Lafon \(E-mail\)" <ylafon@w3.org>
Cc: <xml-dist-app@w3.org>
Message-ID: <NDBBIOBLMLCDOHCHIKMGOECDFEAA.dick@8760.com>
Gudg wrote:

>Conversely if the XML Protocol Layer does NOT support the notion of a path
>then it becomes inherently single-hop. In this latter case path becomes an
>application level construct and not part of the core definition of the XML
>Protocol. This would simplify the core definition of XML Protocol while
>still allowing applications to layer intermediary processing on top of XML
>Protocol.

This is virtually identical to the discussion occurring within ebXML
regarding intermediaries.
A point-to-point protocol can be used in a "iterative" fashion between
multihop exchanges and this
makes the protocol/state machine significantly simpler to implement. The
trade-off is the loss of "protocol"
support for administrative and other functions that cross intermediaries.
However, as you indicated,
some of this functionality can be supplied as an application level
construct.

A good metaphor to help understand the relative complexities of the two
approaches is to compare IP routing(packet switching) to SS7 routing
(circuit based - used for call setup between telco switches).


Dick Brooks
Group 8760
110 12th Street North
Birmingham, AL 35203
dick@8760.com
205-250-8053
Fax: 205-250-8057
http://www.8760.com/

InsideAgent - Empowering e-commerce solutions
Received on Friday, 9 February 2001 10:53:10 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Monday, 7 December 2009 10:58:58 GMT