W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > xml-dist-app@w3.org > April 2000

RE: Announcement: WWW9 Panel on XML and Protocols, 17 May 2000

From: David Burdett <david.burdett@commerceone.com>
Date: Tue, 11 Apr 2000 16:54:48 -0700
Message-ID: <80CB4C7E7DE1D311950600508BA5831F5C6E00@neptune.commerceone.com>
To: "'Henrik Frystyk Nielsen'" <frystyk@microsoft.com>, Dan Connolly <connolly@w3.org>
Cc: "'Eric Prud'hommeaux'" <eric@w3.org>, Ken MacLeod <ken@bitsko.slc.ut.us>, xml-dist-app@w3.org, Janet Daly <janet@w3.org>
Henrik says ...

>>>David brings up good points - no doubt about that but I think we have to
keep in mind which layer(s) they apply to<<<

I agree. 

But what layers do we need, when do need to develop them and in what
sequence?

David

-----Original Message-----
From: Henrik Frystyk Nielsen [mailto:frystyk@microsoft.com]
Sent: Tuesday, April 11, 2000 4:51 PM
To: Dan Connolly
Cc: David Burdett; 'Eric Prud'hommeaux'; Ken MacLeod;
xml-dist-app@w3.org; Janet Daly
Subject: Re: Announcement: WWW9 Panel on XML and Protocols, 17 May 2000


> > As such, it is not strictly fair to apply requirements to SOAP for
which
> > it intentionally has nothing to say. I do not argue that the
> > requirements that you mention are not important but you also mention
> > that they are applicable to a specific set scenarios that may not be
> > globally valid. The real question is therefore whether SOAP allows
you
> > to build such applications while remaining as simple and straight
> > forward as possible.
>
> Really? Is that what everybody else things the real question is?

Within the context of requirements applied directly to SOAP, then I
think so. David brings up good points - no doubt about that but I think
we have to keep in mind which layer(s) they apply to.

> I thought David's point about publish/subscribe etc. was very
> relevant to the discussion at hand, i.e. what problem, if
> any, should W3C charter a working group (or working groups) to solve?

Henrik
Received on Tuesday, 11 April 2000 19:56:04 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Monday, 7 December 2009 10:58:56 GMT