W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > www-zig@w3.org > September 2001

AGAIN: New draft of Z39.50 Bib-2 Attribute Set now available

From: Shuh Barbara <barbara.shuh@nlc-bnc.ca>
Date: Mon, 10 Sep 2001 12:39:32 -0400
Message-ID: <7F6468E55294D21182D800805F57A3B00447D2FA@exchange1>
To: Shuh Barbara <barbara.shuh@nlc-bnc.ca>, "Chas Woodfield (E-mail)" <cwoodfie@fdgroup.co.uk>, "Christer Larsson (E-mail)" <Christer.Larsson@libris.kb.se>, "Christina Perkins Meyer (E-mail)" <c-meye@tc.umn.edu>, "Dale Swensen (E-mail)" <dale_swensen@byu.edu>, "Glenn Patton (E-mail)" <patton@oclc.org>, Jacob HallÚn (E-mail) <jacob@netg.se>, "Janifer Gatenby (E-mail)" <Janifer.Gatenby@pica.nl>, "Jin-San Yang (E-mail)" <jinsan@ndl.co.kr>, "Jo Crawford (E-mail)" <jocraw@tc.umn.edu>, "Jo Rademakers (E-mail)" <johan.rademakers@libis.kuleuven.ac.be>, "Joe Zeeman (E-mail)" <joe.zeeman@tlcdelivers.com>, "John Espley (E-mail)" <espleyj@vtls.com>, "John Lowery (E-mail)" <john.lowery@bl.uk>, "Kethy Klemperer (E-mail)" <klempjo@tiac.net>, "Kevin Gladwell (E-mail)" <kevin.gladwell@bl.uk>, "Larry Dixson (E-mail)" <ldix@loc.gov>, "Leif Andresen (E-mail)" <lea@bs.dk>, "Lennie Stovel (E-mail)" <Lennie_Stovel@notes.rlg.org>, "Les Wibberley (E-mail)" <lwibberley@cas.org>, "Liv Holm (E-mail)" <liv.a.holm@jbji.hio.no>, "Luca Lelli (E-mail)" <l.lelli@tlcpi.finsiel.it>, "Margery Tibbetts (E-mail)" <margery-tibbetts@ucop.edu>, "Maria Brolin (E-mail)" <maria.brolin@libris.kb.se>, "Mark H Needleman (E-mail)" <mneedleman@dra.com>, "Martin Fisk (E-mail)" <martin-fisk@email.msn.com>, "Matt Goldner (E-mail)" <matt.goldner@fdgroup.com>, "Matthew J. Dovey (E-mail)" <matthew.dovey@las.ox.ac.uk>, "Michelle L. Moorhead (E-mail)" <michelle@cdlc.org>, "Mike Wheatley (E-mail)" <mike.wheatley@virgin.net>, "Ole Husby (E-mail)" <ole.husby@bibsys.no>, "Pat Stevens (E-mail)" <pat_stevens@oclc.org>, "Pieter van Lierop (E-mail)" <pvanlierop@geac.fr>, "Ralph LeVan (E-mail)" <levan@oclc.org>, "Randy Menakes (E-mail)" <randy.menakes@exlibris-usa.com>, "Ray Denenberg (E-mail)" <rden@loc.gov>, "Robert Waldstein (E-mail)" <waldd@lucent.com>, "Rolande St-Gelais (E-mail)" <rolande@dra.com>, "Roman Panchyshyn (E-mail)" <panchysr@oclc.org>, "Ronald van der Meer (E-mail)" <ronald@nl.adlibsoft.com>, "Sara Randall (E-mail)" <randall2@uiuc.edu>, "Stephen Hearn (E-mail)" <s-hear@tc.umn.edu>, "Takakku Masao (E-mail)" <masao@ulis.ac.jp>, "Terry Willan (E-mail)" <T.Willan@blcmp.org.uk>, "William E. Moen (E-mail)" <wemoen@unt.edu>, "Youn Soeck Seo (E-mail)" <clock@ndl.co.kr>
Cc: "'ZIG List (E-mail)'" <www-zig@w3.org>
2nd try to issue the latest draft of Z39.50 Bib-2 Attribute Set

Having changed the initial letter of the file names from upper to lower case
- the links now seem to work.  Because of the abundance of tables in the
main document (which are not handled well in HTML), it is available as a PDF
file.

Bib-2 Attribute Set (Z39.50)

Latest Published version:

Seventh Draft, as of 28 August 2001

Because of the abundance of tables in the main document (which are not
handled well in HTML), it is available as a PDF file.
      http://www.nlc-bnc.ca/iso/z3950/bib-2_draft7.pdf

Document History
      Word 2000:
http://www.nlc-bnc.ca/iso/z3950/bib-2_document_history_20010831.doc

I've added the document history file in html, in reaction to Mike Taylor's &
Rob Sanderson's requests to Ray for analternative document format to Word.  
      HTML:
      http://www.nlc-bnc.ca/iso/z3950/bib-2_document_history_20010831.htm 

	As always, comments are welcome, publically on the ZIG list or to
myself and Lennie Stovel, RLG 	mailto:Lennie_Stovel@notes.rlg.org  

Barbara Shuh
______________________
Barbara Shuh
Library Network Specialist
National Library of Canada
Phone:  (819) 994-6969  Fax:  (819) 994-6835
E-mail:  barbara.shuh@nlc-bnc.ca

> Some of you may get a double posting on this, as I posted it to the ZIG
> list as well as to a list compiled by Lennie Stovel, RLG and myself of
> persons who have indicated an interest in Z39.50 attributes designed for
> use when searching bibliographic databases of descriptions created
> according to accepted cataloguing rules such as the Anglo-American
> Cataloguing Rules.
> 
> It's about a year since I agreed to work on completing a revised
> bibliographic attribute set to be used in conjunction with the "new"
> Z39.50 Attribute Architecture.  So I am most pleased to announce that
> draft 7 of the Bib-2 Attribute Set (Z39.50) is now available on the Bib-2
> home page
> 	http://www.nlc-bnc.ca/iso/z3950/bib-2_home.htm
> 
> The release of this draft is in preparation for a meeting on Bib-2 which
> will be held during the ZIG meetings at the British Library in Boston Spa
> (nr. York) in early October.  At the same meeting there will be an
> presentation to ZIG as a whole on this new attribute set and its companion
> MARC Attribute Set.
> 
> This draft  of the Bib-2 set has what some might interpret as a strong
> MARC21 bias when sources were cited.  This occured as MARC21 is the format
> with which I am most familiar.  But the attribute set will not be complete
> until the set includes references from  sources other than MARC21, such as
> UniMARC, or national MARC formats currently in use.  Therefore, Lennie and
> I would welcome input from European colleagues who would be able and
> willing to contribute this information.
> 
> Thanks to Lennie Stovel, Joe Zeeman, Ralph LeVan, Mark Needleman, Larry
> Dixon and Ray Denenburg who suffered through the offline editing of two
> intermediate drafts since the last public draft was released for the ZIG
> meeting in Washington of December 2001.
>  
> As always, comments are welcome, publically on the ZIG list or to myself
> and Lennie Stovel, RLG 	mailto:Lennie_Stovel@notes.rlg.org  
> 
> 
> Barbara Shuh
> ______________________
> Barbara Shuh
> Library Network Specialist
> National Library of Canada
> Phone:  (819) 994-6969  Fax:  (819) 994-6835
> E-mail:  barbara.shuh@nlc-bnc.ca
> 
Received on Monday, 10 September 2001 12:40:56 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Wednesday, 5 February 2014 07:13:27 UTC