W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > www-style@w3.org > October 2014

Re: Scroll-linked effects demos and brainstorming at TPAC?

From: Dean Jackson <dino@apple.com>
Date: Wed, 15 Oct 2014 09:15:58 +1100
Cc: Rick Byers <rbyers@chromium.org>, "www-style@w3.org" <www-style@w3.org>, Benjamin Poulain <benjamin@webkit.org>, Nathaniel Duca <nduca@chromium.org>, Jacob Rossi <Jacob.Rossi@microsoft.com>, Matt Rakow <marakow@microsoft.com>, Robert O'Callahan <rocallahan@gmail.com>, Jonas Sicking <jonas@sicking.cc>, Simon Pieters <simonp@opera.com>, Ian Vollick <vollick@chromium.org>, Simon Fraser <simon.fraser@apple.com>, Edward O'Connor <eoconnor@apple.com>
Message-id: <7AB30C17-93B1-4437-ACA1-B93281003BB9@apple.com>
To: "Tab Atkins Jr." <jackalmage@gmail.com>

> On 15 Oct 2014, at 9:07 am, Tab Atkins Jr. <jackalmage@gmail.com> wrote:
> 
> On Tue, Oct 14, 2014 at 2:16 PM, Rick Byers <rbyers@chromium.org> wrote:
>> There are a number of proposals in flight for enabling scroll-coupled
>> effects and scroll customization.  Eg. Apple's animation-based API, and our
>> (Google's) scroll-delay and beforescroll.
>> 
>> Is there interest in some informal face-to-face time at TPAC to compare
>> demos and discuss the best path forward for standard APIs to enable such
>> scenarios?
>> 
>> I've tentatively added an ad-hoc meeting for Tuesday 11-12.  Does that work?
>> I'm new to TPAC so feel free to suggest better mechanisms for organizing
>> discussion here.
> 
> I think this would be great as an official topic in the CSS meeting
> days, actually.  The scroll stuff is really interesting, but a bit
> spread out and hard for me to follow.  Having a few people laying
> things out plainly for us would be great.

Agreed. And I think we'll need more than one hour.

Dean
Received on Tuesday, 14 October 2014 22:16:32 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Monday, 2 May 2016 14:39:25 UTC