W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > www-style@w3.org > June 2011

Re: [CSSOM] does CaretPosition need a "before/after" hint?

From: Robert O'Callahan <robert@ocallahan.org>
Date: Wed, 29 Jun 2011 16:12:55 +1200
Message-ID: <BANLkTimWndS7xY11hRLpi2uipJ3WUnOS6w@mail.gmail.com>
To: Ryosuke Niwa <rniwa@webkit.org>
Cc: Simon Montagu <smontagu@smontagu.org>, Ojan Vafai <ojan@chromium.org>, Anne van Kesteren <annevk@opera.com>, Julie Parent <jparent@chromium.org>, Eric Seidel <eseidel@chromium.org>, "www-style@w3.org" <www-style@w3.org>
On Wed, Jun 29, 2011 at 3:36 PM, Ryosuke Niwa <rniwa@webkit.org> wrote:

> Here's what I'm afraid to happen.  Because many Web developers are
> unfamiliar with bidirectional text, they'll falsely consider this flag as
> purely an indicator for the caret location around a line-wrap.  They build
> applications based on that false assumption and their applications break
> when used with bidirectional text.


Can you give a more specific example?

Rob
-- 
"If we claim to be without sin, we deceive ourselves and the truth is not in
us. If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our
sins and purify us from all unrighteousness. If we claim we have not sinned,
we make him out to be a liar and his word is not in us." [1 John 1:8-10]
Received on Wednesday, 29 June 2011 04:13:22 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 26 March 2013 17:20:41 GMT