W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > www-style@w3.org > June 2011

Re: [CSSOM] does CaretPosition need a "before/after" hint?

From: Robert O'Callahan <robert@ocallahan.org>
Date: Wed, 29 Jun 2011 15:07:31 +1200
Message-ID: <BANLkTimmMJ3=j6etGNNVEmOQYAZgSit44w@mail.gmail.com>
To: Ryosuke Niwa <rniwa@webkit.org>
Cc: Simon Montagu <smontagu@smontagu.org>, Ojan Vafai <ojan@chromium.org>, Anne van Kesteren <annevk@opera.com>, Julie Parent <jparent@chromium.org>, Eric Seidel <eseidel@chromium.org>, "www-style@w3.org" <www-style@w3.org>
On Wed, Jun 29, 2011 at 2:54 PM, Ryosuke Niwa <rniwa@webkit.org> wrote:

> On Tue, Jun 28, 2011 at 7:33 PM, Robert O'Callahan <robert@ocallahan.org>wrote:
>
>> On Wed, Jun 29, 2011 at 12:00 PM, Ryosuke Niwa <rniwa@webkit.org> wrote:
>>
>>> On Tue, Jun 28, 2011 at 4:59 PM, Robert O'Callahan <robert@ocallahan.org
>>> > wrote:
>>> As far as I understand it, split caret do need some sort of extra
>>> information to tell which one is primary, etc... but different from what you
>>> use.
>>>
>>
>> OK, once again more information would be helpful :-).
>>
>
> I'd love to learn more about how split cursor works myself because there
> doesn't seem to be much documentation on it.  I'm speculating / making
> educated-guesses based on my observations.
>

It seems that with the Mac split caret, one half shows where left-to-right
text would be inserted and the other half shows where right-to-left text
would be inserted. That can be calculated from the text, ignoring the
attachment flag. So it still seems not to be a problem.

Rob
-- 
"If we claim to be without sin, we deceive ourselves and the truth is not in
us. If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our
sins and purify us from all unrighteousness. If we claim we have not sinned,
we make him out to be a liar and his word is not in us." [1 John 1:8-10]
Received on Wednesday, 29 June 2011 03:08:08 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 26 March 2013 17:20:41 GMT