W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > www-style@w3.org > June 2010

Re: [CSS21] bidi, text-align, and list markers

From: Shachar Shemesh <shachar@shemesh.biz>
Date: Sat, 05 Jun 2010 17:49:03 +0300
Message-ID: <4C0A63DF.30400@shemesh.biz>
To: Adil Allawi <adil@diwan.com>
CC: "Aharon (Vladimir) Lanin" <aharon@google.com>, "Phillips, Addison" <addison@lab126.com>, "Tab Atkins Jr." <jackalmage@gmail.com>, Ambrose LI <ambrose.li@gmail.com>, Alan Gresley <alan@css-class.com>, fantasai <fantasai.lists@inkedblade.net>, Bert Bos <bert@w3.org>, W3C style mailing list <www-style@w3.org>, "public-i18n-bidi@w3.org" <public-i18n-bidi@w3.org>
Adil Allawi wrote:
> I think there is a need to control, through CSS, of the bullet 
> alignment separately from the text align and a new value (for want of 
> a better name) 'match-dir' to give the alignment based on the dir 
> attribute of the <li> element as follows:
>
> For a list starting with <ul dir="ltr"><li>hello</li> :
>
> 1. <li dir="rtl" style="text-align:match-dir; 
> bullet-align:match-dir">HELLO gives:
>
> * hello
>                   OLLEH *
>
> 2. <li dir="rtl" style="text-align:match-dir; 
> bullet-align:match-parent">HELLO gives:
>
> * hello
> *                 OLLEH
>
> 4. <li style="text-align:match-parent; bullet-align:match-dir">HELLO 
> (with no styles) gives:
> * hello
>   OLLEH *
>
>   
Shouldn't that be:
* hello
  OLLEH                                *
?

Shachar

-- 
Shachar Shemesh
Lingnu Open Source Consulting Ltd.
http://www.lingnu.com
Received on Saturday, 5 June 2010 20:06:17 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 26 March 2013 17:20:28 GMT