W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > www-rdf-logic@w3.org > January 2005


From: Laura Bright <bright@cse.ogi.edu>
Date: Thu, 27 Jan 2005 17:41:24 -0800
Message-Id: <200501280141.j0S1fOhq025536@turing.cse.ogi.edu>
To: www-rdf-logic@w3.org

                      C A L L   F O R   P A P E R S

                      4th International Conference on
		   Agia Napa, Cyprus, Oct 31 - Nov 4, 2005    


              Proceedings will be published by Springer Verlag

As in previous years, the 2005 conference on Ontologies, DataBases,
and Applications of Semantics for Large Scale Information Systems
(ODBASE'05) provides a forum for exchanging the latest research
results on ontologies, data semantics, and other areas of computing
involved in developing the Semantic Web.

ODBASE'05 intends to draw a highly diverse body of researchers and
practitioners by being part of the Federated Symposium Event "On the
Move to Meaningful Internet Systems 2005" that co-locates three
conferences: ODBASE'05, DOA'05 (International Symposium on Distributed
Objects and Applications), and CoopIS'05 (International Conference on
Cooperative Information Systems).

Of particular relevance to ODBASE'05 are papers that bridge
traditional boundaries between disciplines such as databases,
artificial intelligence, networking, computational linguistics, and
mobile computing. ODBASE'05 also encourages the submission of research
and practical experience papers concerning scalability issues in
ontology management, information integration, and data mining, as well
as papers that examine the information needs of various applications,
including electronic commerce, electronic government, mobile systems,
and bioinformatics.

ODBASE'05 will consider two categories of papers: research and
experience. Research papers must contain novel, unpublished
results. Experience papers must describe existing, realistically large
systems. Preference will be given to papers that describe software
products or systems that are in wide experimental use.


Specific areas of interest to ODBASE'05 include but are not limited to:

    * Knowledge acquisition, extraction and representation
    * Ontology approaches, models, theories, and languages
    * Ontology evolution
    * Semantic Web Services
    * Hypertext, multimedia, and hypermedia semantics
    * Semi-structured data
    * Management of Large Ontology Bases
    * Ontology modularization
    * Data and ontology integration, merge, alignment, fusion
    * Semantic Middleware
    * Ontological support in location-aware services and mobile information systems
    * Information Dissemination
    * Searching and Managing Dynamic Contents
    * Self-organization in Information Systems
    * Emergent semantics in peer-to-peer architectures
    * Data Filtering, Cleansing, and Summarization
    * Metadata Management 

Applications, Evaluations, and Experiences in the following domains:

    * Media Archives and Digital Libraries
    * Enterprise-wide Information Systems
    * Web-based Information Systems
    * Web Services
    * Electronic Commerce
    * Electronic Government
    * Scientific Databases
    * Bioinformatics
    * Ubiquitous and Mobile Information Systems 


Abstract Submission Deadline   May 24, 2005
Paper Submission Deadline May 31, 2005
Acceptance Notification August 10, 2005
Final Version Due August 25, 2005
Conference October 31 - November 4, 2005


All submitted papers will be carefully evaluated based on originality,
significance, technical soundness, and clarity of expression. All
papers will be refereed by at least three members of the program
committee, and at least two will be experts from industry in the case
of practice reports. All submissions must be in English. Submissions
must not exceed 18 pages in the final camera-ready paper
style. Submissions must be laid out according to the final
camera-ready formatting instructions and must be submitted in PDF

The paper submission site is located at:


The final proceedings will be published by Springer Verlag as LNCS
(Lecture Notes in Computer Science). Author instructions can be found


Failure to comply with the above formatting instructions for submitted
papers will lead to the outright rejection of the paper without

Failure to commit to presentation at the conference automatically
excludes a paper from the proceedings.


General Co-Chairs (fedconf@cs.rmit.edu.au)

    * Robert Meersman, VU Brussels, Belgium
    * Zahir Tari, RMIT University, Australia 

Program Committee Co-Chairs (odbase2005@cs.rmit.edu.au)

    * Michael Kifer, State University of New York at Stony Brook, USA
    * Stefano Spaccapietra, EPFL, Lausanne, Switzerland 

Local Organising Chair (skevos@cs.ucy.ac.cy)

    * Skevos Evripidou, University of Cyprus 

Publicity Chair (bright@cs.pdx.edu)

    * Laura Bright, Portland State University, Oregon, USA 

Program Committee Members

        * Jun-ichi Akahani (NTT Corporation, Japan)
    * Juergen Angele (Ontoprise GmbH, Germany)
    * Alessandro Artale (Free University of Bozen-Bolzano, Italy)
    * Mira Balaban (Ben-Gurion University of the Negev, Israel)
    * Daniela Berardi (Università di Roma La Sapienza, Italy)
    * Sonia Bergamaschi (Universita` di Modena e Reggio Emilia, Italy)
    * Abraham Bernstein (University of Zurich, Switzerland)
    * Leo Bertossi (Carleton University, Ottawa, Canada)
    * Harold Boley (National Research Council of Canada)
    * Alex Borgida (Rutgers University, USA)
    * Christoph Bussler ((National University of Ireland, Ireland)
    * Jos de Bruijn (DERI, Austria)
    * Gilberto Câmara (INPE, Brazil)
    * Marco Antonio Casanova (PUC-Rio, Brazil)
    * Mariano Consens (University of Toronto, Canada)
    * Isabel Cruz (Univ. of Illinois at Chicago, USA)
    * Hasan Davulcu (Arizona State University, USA)
    * Tim Finin (University of Maryland)
    * Enrico Franconi (Free University of Bozen-Bolzano, Italy)
    * Fausto Giunchiglia (University of Trento, Italy)
    * Mohand Said Hacid (Université Claude Bernard Lyon, France)
    * Jeff Heflin (Lehigh University, USA)
    * Ian Horrocks (University of Manchester, UK)
    * Arantza Illaramendi (Basque Country University, Spain)
    * Christopher Jones (Cardiff University, UK)
    * Vipul Kashyap (Partners HealthCare Systems, USA)
    * Roger (Buzz) King (University of Colorado, USA)
    * Werner Kuhn (University of Muenster, Germany)
    * Georg Lausen (University of Freiburg, Germany)
    * Bertram Ludaescher (University of California, Davis)
    * Sanjay Madria (University of Missouri-Rolla, USA)
    * Murali Mani (Worcester Polytechnic University, USA)
    * Leo Mark (Georgia Tech, USA)
    * Wolfgang May (Universitaet Goettingen, Germany)
    * Michele Missikoff (CNR)
    * Boris Motik (FZI, Germany)
    * Saikat Mukherjee (Stony Brook University, USA)
    * Moira Norrie (ETH Zurich, Switzerland)
    * Maria Orlowska (The University of Queensland, Australia)
    * Christine Parent (Universite de Lausanne Switzerland)
    * Axel Polleres (University of Innsbruck, Austria)
    * Louiqa Raschid (University of Maryland, USA)
    * Monica Scannapieco (University of Rome, Italy)
    * Amit Sheth (University of Georiga and Semagix, Inc)
    * Michael Sintek (DFKI, Germany)
    * Naveen Srinivasan (CMU, USA)
    * Jianwen Su (UC Santa Barbara)
    * Steffen Staab (University of Karlsruhe, Germany)
    * David Toman (University of Waterloo, Canada)
    * Guizhen Yang (University at Buffalo, USA)
    * Holger Wache (Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, The Netherlands)
    * Gerd Wagner (Brandenburg University of Technology at Cottbus, Germany)
    * Esteban Zimanyi (Universite Libre de Bruxelles, Belgium) 
Received on Friday, 28 January 2005 01:41:26 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Wednesday, 2 March 2016 11:10:43 UTC