W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > www-rdf-interest@w3.org > February 2001

RE: does RDF require understanding all 82 URI schemes?

From: Bill de hOra <bill@dehora.fsnet.co.uk>
Date: Mon, 12 Feb 2001 16:29:53 -0000
To: "Ralph R. Swick" <swick@w3.org>, "Henry S. Thompson" <ht@cogsci.ed.ac.uk>, "Sean B. Palmer" <sean@mysterylights.com>, "Jonathan Borden" <jborden@mediaone.net>, "Dave Beckett" <dave.beckett@bristol.ac.uk>, "David Megginson" <david@megginson.com>, <www-rdf-interest@w3.org>, <xmlschema-dev@w3.org>
Message-ID: <DCEBKOHMHCKKIAAPKLLMKEEMCBAA.bill@dehora.fsnet.co.uk>

: At the present time, the XML language specifications do not
: endorse any use of a namespace URI other than string
: comparison with other namespace URIs.  The RDF designers
: asserted from the beginning that we wanted to use URIs to
: their fullest , not just as strings to be compared.  That is, RDF
: _expects_ that any URI can be presented to the Web for resolution.
: But RDF still treats URIs as "opaque" in the sense that RDF does
: not require any parsing of the URI.

That sounds like a hedge.

Bill de hOra
Received on Monday, 12 February 2001 11:30:31 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Monday, 7 December 2009 10:51:47 GMT