W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > www-international@w3.org > October to December 1996

RFC 1522

From: Erik van der Poel <erik@netscape.com>
Date: Wed, 11 Dec 1996 09:34:21 -0800
Message-ID: <32AEF09D.7A57@netscape.com>
To: "Martin J. Duerst" <mduerst@ifi.unizh.ch>
CC: Drazen Kacar <Drazen.Kacar@public.srce.hr>, Larry Masinter <masinter@parc.xerox.com>, Chris.Lilley@sophia.inria.fr, www-international@w3.org, Alan_Barrett/DUB/Lotus.LOTUSINT@crd.lotus.com, bobj@netscape.com, wjs@netscape.com, Ed_Batutis/CAM/Lotus@crd.lotus.com
> RFC 1522 is designed for 7-bit channels. If you have an 8-bit
> channel, there is no reason to use it.

No, 1522 was designed for something far more restrictive than a simple
7-bit channel. It was designed for email headers (e.g. To:, Cc:, From:,
etc).

In these headers, characters such as comma, '<', '>', '(', ')' and so on
have a special meaning, and there is a *lot* of software out there that
does stuff with these characters. RFC 1522 has a lot of rules for this
type of thing.

So, even if you have an 8-bit email channel, RFC 1522 is needed.


Erik
Received on Wednesday, 11 December 1996 12:37:01 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Tuesday, 2 June 2009 19:16:46 GMT