W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > www-archive@w3.org > December 2009

Re: Final Final vCard (take 2)

From: Renato Iannella <renato@nicta.com.au>
Date: Tue, 1 Dec 2009 23:37:08 +1000
Message-ID: <D479F948-8098-422B-B26F-4B98D8620690@nicta.com.au>
CC: Norman Walsh <ndw@nwalsh.com>, "Martin Hepp (UniBW)" <martin.hepp@ebusiness-unibw.org>, Brian Suda <brian.suda@gmail.com>, Harry Halpin <hhalpin@ibiblio.org>, Toby Inkster <tai@g5n.co.uk>, Dan Brickley <danbri@danbri.org>, KANZAKI Masahide <mkanzaki@gmail.com>, Andreas Radinger <andreas.radinger@unibw.de>, Doug Schepers <schepers@w3.org>, Michael Hausenblas <michael.hausenblas@deri.org>, "www-archive@w3.org" <www-archive@w3.org>
To: Peter Mika <pmika@yahoo-inc.com>
Hi Peter - I understand the issue - perhaps we should try to fix the source (vCard 4.0 currently under development?)

What do others think?

Renato

On 1 Dec 2009, at 20:53, Peter Mika wrote:

> Hi Renato,
> 
> Many thanks for this otherwise ungrateful work...
> 
> Here is a small suggestion to maximize compatibility with hCard. The 
> hCard spec says that organizations and persons are distinguished there 
> using the following rule:
> 
> "If the "FN" and "ORG" properties have the exact same value (typically 
> because they are set on the same element, e.g. class="fn org"), then the 
> hCard represents contact information for a company, organization or 
> place and SHOULD be treated as such. In this case the author also MUST 
> NOT set the "N" property, or set it (and any sub-properties) explicitly 
> to the empty string "". Thus parsers SHOULD handle the missing "N" 
> property, in this case by implying empty values for all the "N" 
> sub-properties. " See http://microformats.org/wiki/hcard
> 
> Even if we don't formalize this constraint (AFAIK can not be done in 
> OWL), at least we should explain that it helps to maximize compatibility 
> if in the organization markup the value of fn and the value of 
> organization-name is the same. We should also adapt the example 
> accordingly, currently the vcard:fn is Example.Com, while the 
> vcard:organization-name is  Example.Com LLC .
> 
> Thanks,
> Peter
> 
> 
> 
> Renato Iannella wrote:
>> Ok guys - hopefully this is *really* it....please review:
>> 
>> http://spin.nicta.org.au/vCardRDF/vcard-rdf-20091201.html
>> http://spin.nicta.org.au/vCardRDF/ns2009-final.rdf
>> 
>> I've updated the Examples in Section 4 and 5 (rdfa new)....
>> 
>> Comments/Feedback....
>> 
>> Cheers...  Renato Iannella
>> NICTA
>> 
>> 
> 

Cheers...  Renato Iannella
NICTA
Received on Tuesday, 1 December 2009 13:40:59 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Wednesday, 7 November 2012 14:18:28 GMT