W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > www-archive@w3.org > June 2008

RE: URGENT: Need PDF of MS' input [Was Re: Seeking earlier feedback from MS]

From: Ian Hickson <ian@hixie.ch>
Date: Fri, 13 Jun 2008 17:39:15 +0000 (UTC)
To: Chris Wilson <Chris.Wilson@microsoft.com>
Cc: "Michael(tm) Smith" <mike@w3.org>, Arthur Barstow <art.barstow@nokia.com>, Sunava Dutta <sunavad@windows.microsoft.com>, Michael Champion <Michael.Champion@microsoft.com>, Rigo Wenning <rigo@w3.org>, Charles McCathieNevile <chaals@opera.com>, Doug Schepers <schepers@w3.org>, "www-archive@w3.org" <www-archive@w3.org>
Message-ID: <Pine.LNX.4.62.0806131737020.6527@hixie.dreamhostps.com>

On Fri, 13 Jun 2008, Chris Wilson wrote:
> 
> (As an aside, could you little-r me and give me your take on why 
> plaintext is preferable to HTML?)

Personally I prefer plaintext because my mail client handles plain text 
much better than HTML, and replying to any feedback will involve sending 
e-mail, so plain text ends up being far easier all around. If I get an 
HTML document to reply to I'll either end up working around my mail 
client's wacked HTML parsing or just serialise the HTML to plain text 
using a Web browser and then treat it as plain text anyway.

-- 
Ian Hickson               U+1047E                )\._.,--....,'``.    fL
http://ln.hixie.ch/       U+263A                /,   _.. \   _\  ;`._ ,.
Things that are impossible just take longer.   `._.-(,_..'--(,_..'`-.;.'
Received on Friday, 13 June 2008 17:40:11 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Wednesday, 7 November 2012 14:18:18 GMT