W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > www-archive@w3.org > June 2008

RE: URGENT: Need PDF of MS' input [Was Re: Seeking earlier feedback from MS]

From: Chris Wilson <Chris.Wilson@microsoft.com>
Date: Fri, 13 Jun 2008 10:30:07 -0700
To: Ian Hickson <ian@hixie.ch>
CC: "Michael(tm) Smith" <mike@w3.org>, Arthur Barstow <art.barstow@nokia.com>, Sunava Dutta <sunavad@windows.microsoft.com>, Michael Champion <Michael.Champion@microsoft.com>, Rigo Wenning <rigo@w3.org>, Charles McCathieNevile <chaals@opera.com>, Doug Schepers <schepers@w3.org>, "www-archive@w3.org" <www-archive@w3.org>
Message-ID: <D12127075745E648BBC075EF46983E170C4370183C@TK5-EXMBX-W603v.wingroup.windeploy.ntdev.microsoft.com>

I see.  I'm sorry, I was unaware until 5 minutes ago that the publishing process of this turned it into an XPS-or-PDF choice.  That's...unfortunate, and should be repaired.

(As an aside, could you little-r me and give me your take on why plaintext is preferable to HTML?)

> -----Original Message-----
> From: Ian Hickson [mailto:ian@hixie.ch]
> Sent: Friday, June 13, 2008 10:25 AM
> To: Chris Wilson
> Cc: Michael(tm) Smith; Arthur Barstow; Sunava Dutta; Michael Champion;
> Rigo Wenning; Charles McCathieNevile; Doug Schepers; www-archive@w3.org
> Subject: RE: URGENT: Need PDF of MS' input [Was Re: Seeking earlier
> feedback from MS]
>
> On Fri, 13 Jun 2008, Chris Wilson wrote:
> >
> > I asked specifically why a PROPRIETARY format copy of the document
> was
> > being requested (by Art).  I'd expect HTML, personally, not
> plaintext;
> > I don't quite understand why we can't at least agree on HTML4.01 as a
> > basic document interchange format.
>
> The versions available right now are PDF and XPS. I believe Art was
> asking
> for the PDF version simply because that would be simpler for you than
> sending it in an open format like HTML, or, preferably, plain text.
>
> --
> Ian Hickson               U+1047E                )\._.,--....,'``.
> fL
> http://ln.hixie.ch/       U+263A                /,   _.. \   _\  ;`._
> ,.
> Things that are impossible just take longer.   `._.-(,_..'--(,_..'`-
> .;.'
Received on Friday, 13 June 2008 17:30:56 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Wednesday, 7 November 2012 14:18:18 GMT