W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > www-archive@w3.org > December 2002

Re: SHOULD/MUST for xml:lang values?

From: Marc Hadley <marc.hadley@sun.com>
Date: Thu, 12 Dec 2002 11:02:49 -0500
Cc: "Anish Karmarkar" <Anish.Karmarkar@oracle.com>, "Nilo Mitra" <EUSNILM@am1.ericsson.se>, "Martin Gudgin" <mgudgin@microsoft.com>, "Jean-Jacques Moreau" <moreau@crf.canon.fr>, <www-archive@w3.org>, frystyk@microsoft.com, Noah Mendelsohn <noah_mendelsohn@us.ibm.com>, carine@w3.org, ylafon@w3.org, ryuji@isl.mei.co.jp
To: David Fallside <fallside@us.ibm.com>
Message-Id: <2989A902-0DEB-11D7-8F28-0003937568DC@sun.com>

There was an email thread following my post where all the participants  
agreed that SHOULD rather than MUST is the right level of compliance.  
We also agreed this in the concall. Reason is that the Text element is  
just for human readable stuff and isn't really an interop point of  
failure. If a receiver gets two Text elements with the same value for  
xml:lang the it can just pick one.

Marc.

On Thursday, Dec 12, 2002, at 10:36 US/Eastern, David Fallside wrote:

>
>
>
>
> In our response to I18N on issue 263
> (http://www.w3.org/2000/xp/Group/xmlp-lc-issues#x263), we said we  
> decided
> that values of xml:lang on multiple Text elements MUST have different
> values. However, in the spec, e.g.
> http://www.w3.org/2000/xp/Group/2/12/CR/soap12- 
> part1.html#faultstringelement,
>  we say that these values SHOULD have different values. We (Carine,  
> Yves
> and I) have been unable to find any record of a decision to use SHOULD
> instead of MUST. Do any of you recall what happened here?
>
>
> ............................................
> David C. Fallside, IBM
> Ext Ph: 530.477.7169
> Int  Ph: 544.9665
> fallside@us.ibm.com
>
>
--
Marc Hadley <marc.hadley@sun.com>
Web Technologies and Standards, Sun Microsystems.
Received on Thursday, 12 December 2002 11:03:10 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Wednesday, 7 November 2012 14:17:24 GMT