W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > www-archive@w3.org > December 2002

SHOULD/MUST for xml:lang values?

From: David Fallside <fallside@us.ibm.com>
Date: Thu, 12 Dec 2002 07:36:45 -0800
To: "Anish Karmarkar" <Anish.Karmarkar@oracle.com>, "Nilo Mitra" <EUSNILM@am1.ericsson.se>, "Marc Hadley" <marc.hadley@sun.com>, "Martin Gudgin" <mgudgin@microsoft.com>, "Jean-Jacques Moreau" <moreau@crf.canon.fr>, <www-archive@w3.org>, frystyk@microsoft.com, Noah Mendelsohn <noah_mendelsohn@us.ibm.com>
Cc: carine@w3.org, ylafon@w3.org, ryuji@isl.mei.co.jp
Message-ID: <OF8D61CDF7.43834FD2-ON88256C8D.00547266@us.ibm.com>





In our response to I18N on issue 263
(http://www.w3.org/2000/xp/Group/xmlp-lc-issues#x263), we said we decided
that values of xml:lang on multiple Text elements MUST have different
values. However, in the spec, e.g.
http://www.w3.org/2000/xp/Group/2/12/CR/soap12-part1.html#faultstringelement,
 we say that these values SHOULD have different values. We (Carine, Yves
and I) have been unable to find any record of a decision to use SHOULD
instead of MUST. Do any of you recall what happened here?


............................................
David C. Fallside, IBM
Ext Ph: 530.477.7169
Int  Ph: 544.9665
fallside@us.ibm.com
Received on Thursday, 12 December 2002 10:41:55 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Wednesday, 7 November 2012 14:17:24 GMT