W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > w3c-wai-ig@w3.org > October to December 1999

Web accessibility milestone in Europe - April 2000

From: Francisco Godinho <f.godinho@mail.telepac.pt>
Date: Fri, 8 Oct 1999 23:52:13 +0100
Message-ID: <00aa01bf11df$c438cfe0$962888c1@magoo.utad.pt>
To: "IBM - SNS Rich Schwerdtfeger" <schwer@us.ibm.com>, "IBM - SNS - Jim Thatcher" <thatch@us.ibm.com>, "IBM Portugal - Conceicao Zagalo" <czagalo@pt.ibm.com>, "IBM UK - Celia Moore" <celia_moore@uk.ibm.com>, "IBM - SNS Robert B. Mahaffey" <bmahaffe@us.ibm.com>, "SIVA - Renzo Andrich" <renzo.andrich@siva.it>, "Hadar - Hans Sundstr§m" <hans.sundstrom@hadar.amu.se>, "ISTF - Vinton Cerf" <vcerf@MCI.NET>, "ISTF - Christian de Larrinaga" <cdel@firsthand.net>, "WAI Interest Group" <w3c-wai-ig@w3.org>
Cc: "MSI - Antˇnio Sim§es Monteiro" <simoes.monteiro@missao-si.mct.pt>, "MSI - JosÚ Dias Coelho (MSI)" <jdcoelho@missao-si.mct.pt>, "MCT - Dr. Miguel Andrade" <andrade@mct1.mct.pt>, "UTAD - Prof. Bulas Cruz" <jcruz@utad.pt>, "MSI - Prof. Pedro Veiga" <pedro.veiga@missao-si.mct.pt>, "Ministro da Ciencia e Tecnologia" <gago@mct.pt>, "Ministerio da Ciencia e Tecnologia" <geral@mct.pt>
Web accessibility milestone in Europe – April 2000

The Portuguese presidency of the European Union ( EU) that will take place
during the first semester of the year 2000, goes to re-launch the European
Initiative for the Information Society, through a ministerial conference
that will be held in Lisbon in April of 2000.

According to Portuguese Minister of Science and Technology, the re-launching
of the European Initiative for the Information Society will be centered in
subjects such as accessibility and regulation of the Internet.

As you know, Portugal is the first European country where web accessibility
is mandatory. This legislation was an initiative of the Ministry of Science
and Technology. I think that people from EU countries should join efforts
and take this conference as a milestone to promote web accessibility in
Europe.

Regards
Francisco Godinho
Co-coordinator of the Petition for the Accessibility of the Portuguese
Internet.
GUIA/PASIG - Portuguese Accessibility Special Interest Group
http://www.acessibilidade.net/index_eng.html
Founder for The Human Chain for Timor on the Internet
http://www.acessibilidade.net/timor
http://www.egroups.com/group/timor-portugal/
STOP THE GENOCIDE IN EAST TIMOR
Received on Friday, 8 October 1999 19:02:05 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Tuesday, 19 July 2011 18:13:45 GMT