W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > w3c-wai-eo@w3.org > October to December 2008

How WCAG 2.0 Differs from WCAG 1.0 (checkpoints v. success criteria)

From: Alan Chuter <achuter@technosite.es>
Date: Thu, 18 Dec 2008 11:21:24 +0100
Message-ID: <494A2424.3060407@technosite.es>
To: EOWG <w3c-wai-eo@w3.org>

About the section "WCAG 1.0 Priority Checkpoints versus WCAG 2.0 Level 
Success Criteria" [1].

Perhaps it would be easier to put the most pertinent information first:

"In WCAG 1.0, the basis for determining conformance to the WCAG 1.0 are 
the *checkpoints*. The basis for determining conformance to the WCAG 2.0 
are the *success criteria*."

Then go into more detail:

"Each version is structured differently: WCAG 1.0 is organized around 
guidelines that have checkpoints, which are priority 1, 2, or 3. WCAG 
2.0 is organized around four design principles of Web accessibility. 
Each principle has guidelines, and each guideline has testable success 
criteria at level A, AA, or AAA .

The above section could be simplified considerably, perhaps something 
like this:

Guidelines > Checkpoints (priority 1, 2, or 3).
Design principles > Guidelines > Success criteria (level A, AA, or AAA).

The final paragraph is interesting: "In WCAG 2.0, a single issue can be 
covered by more than one success criteria at difference levels." There 
doesn't seem to be any accepted term to cover this concept of an "issue" 
spread over two SCs (or link from one to the other except in the 
"Understanding" pages). Perhaps it needs more explaining.



[1] http://www.w3.org/WAI/WCAG20/from10/diff.php
Received on Thursday, 18 December 2008 10:23:32 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 6 January 2015 21:55:57 UTC