W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > w3c-wai-eo@w3.org > April to June 2007

Comments on WCAG 2.0

From: Justin Thorp <juth@loc.gov>
Date: Tue, 29 May 2007 14:43:29 -0400
Message-Id: <465C3C11020000D800012220@ntgwgate.loc.gov>
To: <w3c-wai-eo@w3.org>

For the most part, I was quite impressed with this latest draft.  The wording is MUCH simpler to wrap your head around.  The blogosphere seems to be pretty happy with it too.  I do have a few comments...

*Difference between 2.2.2 Blinking and 2.3.1 Flashing*
2.2.2 talks about blinking and 2.3.1 talks about flashing.  I get that the glossary definition of blink spells out the difference between a blink and a flash but for those of us who typically don't read glossaries (*points finger at myself*) the difference is indistinguishable at first glance. 

Is it possible to have 2.2.2 and 2.3.1 use the same terminology but spell out the distinction between the two ideas right within the SC?

2.2.2 - http://www.w3.org/TR/2007/WD-WCAG20-20070517/Overview.html#time-limits-blink 
2.3.1 - http://www.w3.org/TR/2007/WD-WCAG20-20070517/Overview.html#seizure-does-not-violate 
Blink Definition - http://www.w3.org/TR/WCAG20/#blinksdef  

*Link to "Documented lists of Web technologies with accessibility support in Understanding WCAG 2.0."*
I get the concept of accessibility supported Web technologies (which is an improvement from baselines.)  When I see the link for "Documented lists of Web technologies...", I expect to get a documented list of Web technologies.  Instead when I get to the page which describes it, it essentially says "Just kidding! You have to make the lists."

*Rules for Supported Technologies*
This doesn't give me enough info to judge whether or not a Web technology is accessibility supported.  Are all the W3C Web technologies accessibility supported?  Is one of the conditions of getting WCAG 2.0 published that someone reliable has a list published?  I don't think organizations without the knowledge of user agents and assistive technologies would be able to "create [their] own list" nor would I think we'd want them to make that judgement for themselves.

*Conformance Requirements*
The first sentence says, "in order to conform to WCAG 2.0 all of the following conformance requirements must be met for each Web page."  Level A, Level AA, and Level AAA are all listed in sequential order like they are each conformance requirements which I have to meet, instead of choosing one of them.

Are we also reviewing Understanding WCAG 2.0?

Justin Thorp

Justin Thorp
US Library of Congress
Web Services - Office of Strategic Initiatives
e - juth@loc.gov
p - 202/707-9541
Received on Tuesday, 29 May 2007 18:44:00 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 6 January 2015 21:55:55 UTC