W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > semantic-web@w3.org > May 2008

Re: Managing Co-reference (Was: A Semantic Elephant?)

From: Jim Hendler <hendler@cs.rpi.edu>
Date: Wed, 14 May 2008 16:50:45 -0400
Cc: Kingsley Idehen <kidehen@openlinksw.com>, Michael F Uschold <uschold@gmail.com>, Tim Berners-Lee <timbl@w3.org>, SXXren Auer <auer@informatik.uni-leipzig.de>, Chris Bizer <chris@bizer.de>, Frank van Harmelen <frank.van.harmelen@cs.vu.nl>, Semantic Web Interest Group <semantic-web@w3.org>, "Fabian M. Suchanek" <f.m.suchanek@gmail.com>, Tim Berners-Lee <timbl@csail.mit.edu>, Mark Greaves <markg@vulcan.com>, "georgi.kobilarov" <georgi.kobilarov@gmx.de>, Jens Lehmann <lehmann@informatik.uni-leipzig.de>, Richard Cyganiak <richard@cyganiak.de>, Frederick Giasson <fred@fgiasson.com>, Michael Bergman <mike@mkbergman.com>, Conor Shankey <cshankey@reinvent.com>, Kira Oujonkova <koujonkova@reinvent.com>, Aldo Gangemi <aldo.gangemi@istc.cnr.it>, Ivan Mikhailov <iv@openlinksw.com>, Orri Erling <oerling@openlinksw.com>, Alan Ruttenberg <alanruttenberg@gmail.com>
Message-Id: <7AA5938A-D52A-4970-96D6-033C754FF646@cs.rpi.edu>
To: Kendall Grant Clark <kendall@clarkparsia.com>

FWIW, I wouldn't mind at all seeing (i) the main discussion move to a  
public list like Tim suggested, (ii) the stuff like the below moving  
to private email....


On May 14, 2008, at 4:35 PM, Kendall Grant Clark wrote:

> Excerpts from Kingsley Idehen's message of Wed May 14 16:08:39 -0400  
> 2008:
>
>> Okay, the JDBC bit is good, and we can easily test Owlgres against
>> Virtuoso JDBC.  But of course, we end up with the obvious question:  
>> Why
>> are we using JDBC to talk to a DBMS engine equipped with a Quad  
>> Store?
>
> I don't know, Kingsley, why are you doing that? We're *not* doing that
> presently, so it's not a super interesting question for *us*. YMMV.
>
>> We've been through this re. recent work relating to new Model  
>> Providers
>> for Sesame, Jena, and Redland (all of which offer SQL DBMS and Graph
>> Model persistence  APIs).
>
> Okay, I guess I'm just not clever enough to realize what anything  
> you all have
> been doing with those systems has anything to do with what we're  
> doing?
>
>> I am trying to determine if  we've ended up with  two things that are
>> artificially disconnected :-)
>
> Only under a robust, extensive set of assumptions that I guarantee  
> "we" do not
> share. :>
>
> Cheers,
> Kendall

"If we knew what we were doing, it wouldn't be called research, would  
it?." - Albert Einstein

Prof James Hendler				http://www.cs.rpi.edu/~hendler
Tetherless World Constellation Chair
Computer Science Dept
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, Troy NY 12180
Received on Wednesday, 14 May 2008 20:51:24 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 26 March 2013 21:45:22 GMT