W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-ws-chor@w3.org > July 2003

Re: Revised: Mission Statement

From: Monica J. Martin <monica.martin@sun.com>
Date: Mon, 07 Jul 2003 08:02:00 -0600
Message-ID: <3F097D58.808@sun.com>
To: Jim Hendler <hendler@cs.umd.edu>
CC: Steve Ross-Talbot <steve@enigmatec.net>, Nickolas Kavantzas <nickolas.kavantzas@oracle.com>, "Cummins, Fred A" <fred.cummins@eds.com>, Martin Chapman <martin.chapman@oracle.com>, "Yaron Y. Goland" <ygoland@bea.com>, public-ws-chor@w3.org

>
> Hendler: Steve - in the compositions we've been playing with (some of 
> which I demoed at the first f2f, and anyone outside a firewall can 
> play with themselves from http://www.mindswap.org/~evren/composer/, we 
> do allow the creation of new web services by the composition of 
> existing ones - and these services themselves can be composed with 
> others -- the WSDL is accomplished by grounding the service calls in 
> WSDL (using the DAML-S groundings) and the "choreography" we use is 
> the DAML-S process model.  (I'm hoping the chor langauge we come up 
> with will replace the latter eventually)
>  that said, I agree with you that it probably is not "definitional" 
> that the composition results in a new "service" per se.  I think I'd 
> like the idea of using "scope" in there, but don't have specific words 
> either -- I'll think on this
>  -JH


mm1: Then could we revise this working definition?

> **A service composition is a composition of services that results in a 
> ANOTHER service. THIS service can be the combination of distinct parts 
> to form a whole of the same generic type. The web services could be 
> combined to achieve a specific goal.*
> *

This does not preclude services within services, or a service set within 
another service set.

Edit away, Jim.
Monica
Received on Monday, 7 July 2003 09:50:35 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Saturday, 18 December 2010 01:00:24 GMT