W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-webapps@w3.org > January to March 2013

Re: [webcomponents]: Moving custom element callbacks to prototype/instance

From: Dimitri Glazkov <dglazkov@google.com>
Date: Fri, 8 Mar 2013 09:51:35 -0800
Message-ID: <CADh5Ky1DJd250Q2ur8QTdb71bMVw9k+kjqXT2BgQVR0363iv4w@mail.gmail.com>
To: Blake Kaplan <mrbkap@gmail.com>
Cc: public-webapps <public-webapps@w3.org>, Scott Miles <sjmiles@google.com>, Elliott Sprehn <esprehn@google.com>, Steve Orvell <sorvell@google.com>, Daniel Buchner <daniel@mozilla.com>, Adam Klein <adamk@google.com>, Hajime Morrita <morrita@google.com>, Blake Kaplan <mrbkap@mozilla.com>, William Chen <wchen@mozilla.com>
On Wed, Mar 6, 2013 at 4:26 PM, Blake Kaplan <mrbkap@gmail.com> wrote:
> On Wed, Mar 6, 2013 at 1:55 PM, Dimitri Glazkov <dglazkov@google.com> wrote:
>> 1) Somehow magically chain "create" callbacks. In Lucy's case,
>> <foo-lucy> will call both Raj's and Lucy's callbacks.
>> 2) Get rid of a separate lifecycle object and just put the callbacks
>> on the prototype object, similar to printCallback
>> (http://lists.w3.org/Archives/Public/public-whatwg-archive/2013Jan/0259.html)
>
>> I am leaning toward the second solution, but wanted to get your opinions.
>
> I also like the second solution, but Hajime's point about the
> mutability and general exposure of the lifecycle methods is a good
> one. Is there a motivation for having the lifecycle objects on the
> prototype as opposed to being passed in as an "ancestor" parameter?
> XBL1, as I understand it, automatically calls the
> constructor/destructor of "extended" bindings, but given the ad hoc
> nature of web components' inheritance, it seems like it would be much
> less surprising to make this stuff explicit *somewhere* (i.e. in the
> actual components rather than in the engine).

I think the idea of placing callbacks on the prototype was the
simplest to do, given that prototype inheritance provides all the
right machinery. If we deem this being a terrible idea, we'll need to
fallback to something like passing ancestor. But then we'll be going
against the grain of JS.

:DG<
Received on Friday, 8 March 2013 17:52:07 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 26 March 2013 18:49:58 GMT