W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-webapps@w3.org > April to June 2012

Re: [webcomponents] Template element parser changes => Proposal for adding DocumentFragment.innerHTML

From: Ryosuke Niwa <rniwa@webkit.org>
Date: Thu, 10 May 2012 15:38:53 -0700
Message-ID: <CABNRm60ZLVM56hAUaLhBBAuiNRc-zEWYaLGCe1J=WiEQhYGsUg@mail.gmail.com>
To: Ian Hickson <ian@hixie.ch>
Cc: Jonas Sicking <jonas@sicking.cc>, Scott González <scott.gonzalez@gmail.com>, "Tab Atkins Jr." <jackalmage@gmail.com>, Anne van Kesteren <annevk@annevk.nl>, Yehuda Katz <wycats@gmail.com>, Henri Sivonen <hsivonen@iki.fi>, Rafael Weinstein <rafaelw@google.com>, Webapps WG <public-webapps@w3.org>
On Thu, May 10, 2012 at 3:33 PM, Ian Hickson <ian@hixie.ch> wrote:
>
>  On Thu, 10 May 2012, Scott González wrote:
> > Why is simplicity not enough of an answer?
>
> It's a fine answer. But I don't think magical APIs are simple. Simplicity
> in this case IMHO argues for explicitly selected context.
>

I don't think authors think like that. Most of them don't even understand
that they need a context element to parse a HTML fragment. They just want
an API that's simple and do reasonable things in most cases. IMO, it's okay
for edge cases to be weird as long as we agree on one behavior.

- Ryosuke
Received on Thursday, 10 May 2012 22:39:44 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 26 March 2013 18:49:52 GMT