W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-tracking@w3.org > March 2012

Re: ISSUE-111 - Exceptions are broken

From: Rigo Wenning <rigo@w3.org>
Date: Fri, 09 Mar 2012 19:16:14 +0100
To: public-tracking@w3.org
Cc: Sean Harvey <sharvey@google.com>, Nicholas Doty <npdoty@w3.org>, Kevin Smith <kevsmith@adobe.com>, "TOUBIANA, VINCENT (VINCENT)" <Vincent.Toubiana@alcatel-lucent.com>, "Roy T. Fielding" <fielding@gbiv.com>, Shane Wiley <wileys@yahoo-inc.com>
Message-ID: <2109065.3HBi4Rkev1@hegel.sophia.w3.org>
If the browser remembers the exception, it will send DNT=0 for all subsequent 
interactions. This means already upon request, you know what to do. This is 
stronger and better than cookies, I've been told. 

But I guess Nick knows better than I do...

Rigo

On Thursday 08 March 2012 17:15:30 Sean Harvey wrote:
> my other concern is that if the browser is "handling it" it would result in
> truly crazy behavior that is non-implementable for servers.
> 
> Specifically, we might be forced to set cookies and then opt-out cookies
> repeatedly and in succession depending on whether a 0 or 1 value is present
> in DNT. I'm curious what alternate implementation you are suggesting.
Received on Friday, 9 March 2012 18:16:42 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Friday, 21 June 2013 10:11:26 UTC