W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-tracking-comments@w3.org > June 2015

Re: TPE Last Call comments, re: validation of user signals (issue-260)

From: David Wainberg <dwainberg@appnexus.com>
Date: Wed, 10 Jun 2015 12:24:57 -0400
Message-ID: <557864D9.2020900@appnexus.com>
To: Nick Doty <npdoty@w3.org>, "Jack L. Hobaugh Jr" <jack@networkadvertising.org>, <Rachel.Glasser@groupm.com>, Alan Chapell <achapell@chapellassociates.com>, <pkosmala@aaaa.org>, <Brooks.Dobbs@kbmg.com>, Chris Mejia <elementslifestylegroup@hotmail.com>, <Max.Ochoa@turn.com>, <tstoute@eyereturn.com>, <mike@iab.net>, <alevenfeld@rocketfuel.com>, Vivek Narayanadas <vnarayanadas@rubiconproject.com>, <nadine.stocklin@pubmatic.com>
CC: <public-tracking-comments@w3.org>
Hi Nick,

No, Adobe's unilateral dismissal of this issue did not resolve my 
concerns at all. It remains a significant issue.

-David

On 2015-06-09 7:04 PM, Nick Doty wrote:
> Hi Jack, Rachel, Alan, Peter, Brooks, Chris, David, Max, Tim, Mike, Ari, Vivek and Nadine,
>
> Thank you for your comments (last June) on the TPE Last Call Working Draft. The Tracking Protection Working Group has discussed each of the issues and proposed resolutions. This email in particular describes discussion and proposed resolution regarding validation of DNT signals.
>
> Editor Roy Fielding has provided a detailed response to different comments related to this issue in email; I have provided the link below. I would briefly summarize the resolution as:
> * testing and other means can help to validate signals but specification cannot provide additional proof
>
> https://lists.w3.org/Archives/Public/public-tracking/2014Dec/0020.html
> https://www.w3.org/2011/tracking-protection/track/issues/260
>
> Please let us know if these changes or explanations resolve your concerns.
>
> Thanks,
> Nick Doty, W3C (for the Tracking Protection Working Group)
>
> Re:
> http://lists.w3.org/Archives/Public/public-tracking-comments/2014Jun/0001.html
> http://lists.w3.org/Archives/Public/public-tracking-comments/2014Jun/0003.html
> http://lists.w3.org/Archives/Public/public-tracking-comments/2014Jun/0005.html
> http://lists.w3.org/Archives/Public/public-tracking-comments/2014Jun/0007.html
> http://lists.w3.org/Archives/Public/public-tracking-comments/2014Jun/0009.html
> http://lists.w3.org/Archives/Public/public-tracking-comments/2014Jun/0010.html
> http://lists.w3.org/Archives/Public/public-tracking-comments/2014Jun/0011.html
> http://lists.w3.org/Archives/Public/public-tracking-comments/2014Jun/0012.html
> http://lists.w3.org/Archives/Public/public-tracking-comments/2014Jun/0014.html
> http://lists.w3.org/Archives/Public/public-tracking-comments/2014Jun/0015.html
> http://lists.w3.org/Archives/Public/public-tracking-comments/2014Jun/0016.html
> http://lists.w3.org/Archives/Public/public-tracking-comments/2014Jun/0019.html
> http://lists.w3.org/Archives/Public/public-tracking-comments/2014Jun/0020.html
Received on Wednesday, 10 June 2015 16:25:52 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Wednesday, 10 June 2015 16:25:53 UTC