W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-tracking-comments@w3.org > June 2015

TPE Last Call comments, re: validation of user signals (issue-260)

From: Nick Doty <npdoty@w3.org>
Date: Tue, 9 Jun 2015 16:04:20 -0700
Message-Id: <8DFDBD84-3603-41DE-9BCA-B660B23D036B@w3.org>
Cc: public-tracking-comments@w3.org
To: "Jack L. Hobaugh Jr" <jack@networkadvertising.org>, Rachel.Glasser@groupm.com, Alan Chapell <achapell@chapellassociates.com>, pkosmala@aaaa.org, Brooks.Dobbs@kbmg.com, Chris Mejia <elementslifestylegroup@hotmail.com>, David Wainberg <dwainberg@appnexus.com>, Max.Ochoa@turn.com, tstoute@eyereturn.com, mike@iab.net, alevenfeld@rocketfuel.com, Vivek Narayanadas <vnarayanadas@rubiconproject.com>, nadine.stocklin@pubmatic.com
Hi Jack, Rachel, Alan, Peter, Brooks, Chris, David, Max, Tim, Mike, Ari, Vivek and Nadine,

Thank you for your comments (last June) on the TPE Last Call Working Draft. The Tracking Protection Working Group has discussed each of the issues and proposed resolutions. This email in particular describes discussion and proposed resolution regarding validation of DNT signals.

Editor Roy Fielding has provided a detailed response to different comments related to this issue in email; I have provided the link below. I would briefly summarize the resolution as:
* testing and other means can help to validate signals but specification cannot provide additional proof

https://lists.w3.org/Archives/Public/public-tracking/2014Dec/0020.html
https://www.w3.org/2011/tracking-protection/track/issues/260

Please let us know if these changes or explanations resolve your concerns.

Thanks,
Nick Doty, W3C (for the Tracking Protection Working Group)

Re:
http://lists.w3.org/Archives/Public/public-tracking-comments/2014Jun/0001.html
http://lists.w3.org/Archives/Public/public-tracking-comments/2014Jun/0003.html
http://lists.w3.org/Archives/Public/public-tracking-comments/2014Jun/0005.html
http://lists.w3.org/Archives/Public/public-tracking-comments/2014Jun/0007.html
http://lists.w3.org/Archives/Public/public-tracking-comments/2014Jun/0009.html
http://lists.w3.org/Archives/Public/public-tracking-comments/2014Jun/0010.html
http://lists.w3.org/Archives/Public/public-tracking-comments/2014Jun/0011.html
http://lists.w3.org/Archives/Public/public-tracking-comments/2014Jun/0012.html
http://lists.w3.org/Archives/Public/public-tracking-comments/2014Jun/0014.html
http://lists.w3.org/Archives/Public/public-tracking-comments/2014Jun/0015.html
http://lists.w3.org/Archives/Public/public-tracking-comments/2014Jun/0016.html
http://lists.w3.org/Archives/Public/public-tracking-comments/2014Jun/0019.html
http://lists.w3.org/Archives/Public/public-tracking-comments/2014Jun/0020.html

Received on Tuesday, 9 June 2015 23:04:50 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 9 June 2015 23:04:50 UTC