W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-rdfa@w3.org > February 2009

Re: RDFa and Web Directions North 2009

From: Henri Sivonen <hsivonen@iki.fi>
Date: Mon, 16 Feb 2009 14:45:18 +0200
Cc: Karl Dubost <karl@la-grange.net>, Mark Birbeck <mark.birbeck@webbackplane.com>, Sam Ruby <rubys@intertwingly.net>, Kingsley Idehen <kidehen@openlinksw.com>, Dan Brickley <danbri@danbri.org>, Michael Bolger <michael@michaelbolger.net>, public-rdfa@w3.org, RDFa mailing list <public-rdf-in-xhtml-tf@w3.org>, Tim Berners-Lee <timbl@w3.org>, Dan Connolly <connolly@w3.org>, Ian Hickson <ian@hixie.ch>
Message-Id: <8D61601B-17F4-4502-808A-A0A3F96829F4@iki.fi>
To: Ivan Herman <ivan@w3.org>
On Feb 16, 2009, at 14:29, Ivan Herman wrote:

> Henri Sivonen wrote:
>>>
>>> * a list of current implementations
>>> http://rdfa.info/rdfa-implementations/
>> Quoting that page:
>>> Python
>>>
>>>    * RDFa Distiller
>>>      Author: Ivan Herman
>>>      http://www.w3.org/2007/08/pyRdfa/
>>
>> This implementation uses a tree representation that leaks qnames to  
>> the
>> application layer even in XML. Thus, it doesn't demonstrate the  
>> problems
>> that apply to SAX and XOM.
>>
>> (Aside: The way the parser is chosen is non-conforming per HTML 5.)
>>
>
> Aside: do you have a pointer to a conforming HTML 5 parser that can  
> also
> be used with Python?

html5lib itself is fine.

However, (by inspection of source) pyRdfa seems to parse input as XML  
regardless of HTTP Content-Type and falls back to html5lib if the XML  
parser raises an exception.

The HTML 5-compliant way is to use the XML parser for application/xhtml 
+xml (without html5lib fallback) and html5lib for text/html.

-- 
Henri Sivonen
hsivonen@iki.fi
http://hsivonen.iki.fi/
Received on Monday, 16 February 2009 12:47:32 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Monday, 16 February 2009 12:47:32 GMT