W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-html@w3.org > April 2010

Re: Change definition of URL to normatively reference IRI specification using a well-defined interface

From: Maciej Stachowiak <mjs@apple.com>
Date: Thu, 08 Apr 2010 01:46:22 -0700
Cc: 'Julian Reschke' <julian.reschke@gmx.de>, 'Marc Blanchet' <Marc.Blanchet@viagenie.ca>, 'Ted Hardie' <ted.ietf@gmail.com>, Sam Ruby <rubys@intertwingly.net>, 'Paul Cotton' <Paul.Cotton@microsoft.com>, 'Ian Hickson' <ian@hixie.ch>, Martin Duerst <duerst@w3.org>, Michel SUIGNARD <Michel@suignard.com>, 'public-html' <public-html@w3.org>
Message-id: <630E6B99-5630-450A-AC1B-4C32F98546FE@apple.com>
To: Larry Masinter <LMM@acm.org>

Hi Larry,

Thanks for chiming in.

On Apr 8, 2010, at 1:32 AM, Larry Masinter wrote:

> There has been some discussion in the HTML working group over how to  
> get changes into the IRI spec in IETF, specifically with  
> requirements for a better interface for some processing.
>
> Ø  “If we can get agreement to provide an interface roughly similar  
> to what Ian proposed…”
>
> Honestly, I thought the IRIBIS document actually had what is being  
> asked for here. So I’d like someone else to look & see if they can  
> figure out what’s not there that needs to be there, or make specific  
> proposals.

I looked at section 7.2 in what I believe is the latest Internet- 
Draft: <http://tools.ietf.org/html/draft-duerst-iri-bis-07>. That's  
the section that defines lenient "Web Address" style processing.

I see a preprocessing algorithm defined, but I do not see definitions  
of "parse" or "resolve" algorithms with the inputs and outputs Ian  
asked for. In fact, the words "parse" and "resolve" do not seem to  
appear in that section. I think the proposal at the start of this  
thread is asking for a single term, algorithm, or subsection that has  
the requested inputs and outputs in each case, and performs the  
intended task (modulo bugs).

>  > I'd really really like to hear from Larry or one of the other  
> IRIbis editors whether this basic approach is acceptable
>
> As far as process issues in IRIBIS, please check with the chairs,  
> who are currently Ted Hardie and Marc Blanchet for authoritative  
> answers.
>
> My current belief is that the IETF IRI WG will  IETF tracker at http://tools.ietf.org/wg/iri/trac/report/1 
> , and that the chairs will use the tracker to drive discussion and  
> resolution.

That makes sense as an approach to tracking proposed IRIbis changes.  
If thethe IRIbis chairs have any guidance that would be welcome as well.


Regards,
Maciej
Received on Thursday, 8 April 2010 08:46:57 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Monday, 29 September 2014 09:39:16 UTC