W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-html@w3.org > February 2009

Re: summary="" in HTML5 ISSUE-32

From: Ian Hickson <ian@hixie.ch>
Date: Thu, 26 Feb 2009 22:46:29 +0000 (UTC)
To: Julian Reschke <julian.reschke@gmx.de>
Cc: David Poehlman <poehlman1@comcast.net>, Maciej Stachowiak <mjs@apple.com>, Matt Morgan-May <mattmay@adobe.com>, Dan Connolly <connolly@w3.org>, Jonas Sicking <jonas@sicking.cc>, Sam Ruby <rubys@intertwingly.net>, Robert J Burns <rob@robburns.com>, "Gregory J. Rosmaita" <oedipus@hicom.net>, Leif Halvard Silli <lhs@malform.no>, James Graham <jgraham@opera.com>, Joshue O Connor <joshue.oconnor@cfit.ie>, Steve Axthelm <steveax@pobox.com>, Steven Faulkner <faulkner.steve@gmail.com>, Simon Pieters <simonp@opera.com>, HTMLWG <public-html@w3.org>, "wai-xtech@w3.org" <wai-xtech@w3.org>, "wai-liaison@w3.org" <wai-liaison@w3.org>, "janina@rednote.net" <janina@rednote.net>, W3C WAI Protocols & Formats <w3c-wai-pf@w3.org>
Message-ID: <Pine.LNX.4.62.0902262246170.8214@hixie.dreamhostps.com>
On Thu, 26 Feb 2009, Julian Reschke wrote:
> David Poehlman wrote:
> > hmm, I like #2 but I would ad that it is my contention that we don't break
> > backwards compatibility.
> > ...
> 
> Indeed.
> 
> Come up with something better, and *deprecate* the old feature in order to
> make the transition.

That's in fact exactly what HTML5 does today.

-- 
Ian Hickson               U+1047E                )\._.,--....,'``.    fL
http://ln.hixie.ch/       U+263A                /,   _.. \   _\  ;`._ ,.
Things that are impossible just take longer.   `._.-(,_..'--(,_..'`-.;.'
Received on Thursday, 26 February 2009 22:47:11 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Monday, 29 September 2014 09:39:01 UTC