W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-html@w3.org > February 2009

Re: head@profile: another dropped attribute

From: Philip TAYLOR (Ret'd) <P.Taylor@Rhul.Ac.Uk>
Date: Thu, 05 Feb 2009 16:06:57 +0000
Message-ID: <498B0EA1.9020404@Rhul.Ac.Uk>
To: Murray Maloney <murray@muzmo.com>
CC: Sam Ruby <rubys@intertwingly.net>, Rob Sayre <rsayre@mozilla.com>, Henri Sivonen <hsivonen@iki.fi>, Larry Masinter <masinter@adobe.com>, HTML WG <public-html@w3.org>



Murray Maloney wrote:

> Frankly, your example makes us all second-class citizens, and does not harm
> the visually-impaired any more than the sighted. That is, knowledge that
> a span of text is in a different color than the rest of the text only 
> tells me that that text is in a different color. Unless there is a key, I don't 
> know anything more about that colored text than the next guy -- sighted or not. No 
> discrimination.
> No harm, no foul.

You (if you are sighted) can draw inferences from
a stretch of text being differently coloured; someone
who cannot see the text, and whose UA/AT does nothing
special with the combination <font color="...> is
denied even the possibility of drawing a meaningful
inference.

Philip TAYLOR
Received on Thursday, 5 February 2009 16:21:25 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Monday, 29 September 2014 09:39:01 UTC