W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-html@w3.org > September 2008

Re: function and impacts (was: @scope and @headers reform)

From: Laura Carlson <laura.lee.carlson@gmail.com>
Date: Wed, 24 Sep 2008 13:03:13 -0500
Message-ID: <1c8dbcaa0809241103m60c89d09s500477555c61312e@mail.gmail.com>
To: "Steven Faulkner" <faulkner.steve@gmail.com>
Cc: "Henri Sivonen" <hsivonen@iki.fi>, joshue.oconnor@cfit.ie, "James Craig" <jcraig@apple.com>, "Al Gilman" <alfred.s.gilman@ieee.org>, "Chris Wilson" <Chris.Wilson@microsoft.com>, "W3C WAI-XTECH" <wai-xtech@w3.org>, public-html@w3.org, "Gez Lemon" <gez.lemon@gmail.com>

Steve wrote:

> If the spec stays as is, it will leave me in my professional work to
> advise clients (in the future):
> For cases where they want to mark up complex and irregular data tables
> so they can be interpreted relaible by AT , (admittedly not a frequent
> occurrence but it does occur.)
> 1. To continue to use HTML4
> 2. write non-conforming HTML5
> 3. use aria-labelledby example -
> (http://www.paciellogroup.com/blog/misc/complexdatatable.html)

It is very sad to say, but yes not recommending HTML5 to not only
clients but also in educational venues as well, may be the only
answer, if the spec is not changed.

> I can live with that.

I would have to teach that.

Best Regards,
Laura

-- 
Laura L. Carlson
Received on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 18:03:55 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Monday, 29 September 2014 09:38:58 UTC