W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-html@w3.org > April 2008

RE: hand authoring web pages (was Re: Exploring new vocabularies for HTML)

From: Justin James <j_james@mindspring.com>
Date: Tue, 1 Apr 2008 11:19:50 -0400
To: "'Neil Soiffer'" <Neils@dessci.com>, "'Ian Hickson'" <ian@hixie.ch>
Cc: "'Bruce Miller'" <bruce.miller@nist.gov>, "'Sam Ruby'" <rubys@us.ibm.com>, "'Robert Miner'" <robertm@dessci.com>, "'Henri Sivonen'" <hsivonen@iki.fi>, "'David Carlisle'" <davidc@nag.co.uk>, <public-html@w3.org>, <www-math@w3.org>
Message-ID: <04ac01c8940b$d41e3640$7c5aa2c0$@com>

> My experience has been that many pages are in fact hand-authored, either
> directly in a text editor, or through CMS systems that provide raw HTML
> editors, or through templates that are hand edited. I do not think we can
> forgo addressing the needs of hand-authoring content creators.

The simple fact is, these CMS HTML editor widgets (like TinyMCE and FSCK)
were developed well into the HTML 4 era, yet they use <b> and <i> all over
the place from what I have seen. There is a huge portion of people
performing hand editing are still using the <font> tag, despite trying to
mark their page as strict HTML 4 (their editor stuck the doctype in, then
they hand mangled the code with the "help" of some tutorial found online and
written in 1995).

In a nutshell, the people who care about being compliant work hard to do it,
and everyone else does whatever is easiest. Therefore, we need to make the
spec itself the easiest way to do things.

J.Ja
Received on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 15:20:57 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Wednesday, 9 May 2012 00:16:14 GMT